Question about Middle Click taskbar


Joined
May 1, 2009
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
I'm dual booting with XP and 7RC1. With XP I use a program called TaskbarShuffle. It allows me to middle click on a program running in the taskbar to close the program.

In Win7, middle clicking opens a copy of the same program and TaskbarShuffle doesn't work with Win7 yet. Is there any way to change the middle mouse button's behavior through the registry or does anybody know of another program that will do it?

This is the only reason RC1 is not my only operating system. Please help.

Thank you.
 
Ad

Advertisements

James M. Fisher

Geezer
Microsoft MVP
Joined
Apr 30, 2009
Messages
171
Reaction score
31
You should be able to change the mouse button assignments through the mouse applet in Control Panel and/or in the software that came with the mouse. I am on a laptop with a touchpad, so I cannot confirm if Win7 has the ability to do this by default.
What make of mouse is it? Microsoft, Logitech, etc?
 
Joined
May 1, 2009
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
It is a cheap A4 Tech 5 button 2 scroll mouse. The thing is, I want to mouse to act exactly as it does for all programs, but just effect the taskbar different. I'll have a look at your two ideas, if I can even find software for it, and report back.

EDIT: ok that didn't take long. Their software allows me to set the middle button to "Close Application", but it only closes the application that is under the mouse pointer. If I click on the application on the taskbar, it tries shutting down my computer instead of closing the application. So, no dice.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 1, 2009
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
That program looked so promising.

I set Middle Mouse to Close Program, which would attempt to close Explorer instead of the program I have my mouse over on the taskbar.

I tried to set it to Right Click then press "C" and it worked, but only if i clicked on the taskbar with my Left Mouse to make it the active program first. It also would steal the mouse for about a second before it would close.

Sadly, this is definitely not the solution, but at least it was fun to mess with.
 

James M. Fisher

Geezer
Microsoft MVP
Joined
Apr 30, 2009
Messages
171
Reaction score
31
You may need to go with a premium mouse with better button-mapping software to get what you want, or wait for a Win7 version of TaskBarShuffle...
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
May 1, 2009
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
A premium mouse would make no difference since the software would not detect the position of the mouse over the taskbar.

I've tried a few other pieces of software that are almost identical to TaskbarShuffle and they do not work at all either. So, it is looking like I'm just going to have to quit being impatient and deal with it until after Win7 RTM.

EDIT: Sorry.. thank you for you help.
 
Joined
May 1, 2009
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Its interesting that you posted that. I'm JuniorAndTorrie on his forum. The poster of the thread. lolz
 

Ian

Administrator
Joined
Oct 17, 2008
Messages
3,482
Reaction score
632
Its interesting that you posted that. I'm JuniorAndTorrie on his forum. The poster of the thread. lolz
I wondered if that might have been the case before I posted it :lol: If I see anything else that can do the job, I'll post back here :)
 
Ad

Advertisements

Ad

Advertisements


Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Similar Threads

Questions on installing an SSD drive 3
Question regarding system restore. 6
Defrag question 4
SOLVED Permissions question 4
Win XP Pro Question 10
SOLVED Question on opening multiple web pages 8
SOLVED Innane question about libraries 2
IE Favorites question 2

Top