W7 Home Ultimate 32 bit. Updates go on and on

Reaction score
I have automatic updates turned ON.

When I tried to turn off the system for the day, I saw the message "on not power off or shut down the computer; installing 1 of 21 updates". So I went to bed leaving the computer on, and to my horror, this morning IT WAS STILL INSTALLING 18 of 21 UPDATES!

What I am supposed to do now? I am scared to turn off the system.

On a few earlier occasions, after an update, the system required booting from the original CD. At other times, my wife simply shut down the system and started again, then it worked without the boot CD.

Please help me resolve the present problem first. Then please tell me if I can turn off automatic updates, and if so, what I should do to get updates that are mandatory. I am really sick of this unnecessary round about way of doing this.

Thanks for your help. I am NOT a computer professional.
Is

Nibiru2012

Quick Scotty, beam me up!
Reaction score
The latest 4 or 5 updates have been causing issues for A LOT of users, myself included.

IF those last updates still are causing you issues then only choose ONE update at a time and continue on with the rest. You'll have to restart your computer on I believe two of the updates.

Try that and see how it works out for you.

Reaction score
But my immediate problem right now is, what to do with the system? Just cold boot, that is, turn power off? There are 21 updates, last I looked this morning, it was stuck on 18 of 21. And where is the option to choose one or the other update? And which one of the updates can I choose? Is there some sort of logic?

Thanks for your help, Quick Scotty. I really appreciate your help. I will know what to do only after I go home in the evening.

Kalario

Aquarius
Reaction score
The latest 4 or 5 updates have been causing issues for A LOT of users, myself included.