Starsear.ch virus

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction score
Hi all!!!
I am totally new and I probably don't know how to describe correctly my problem but I will try to be as clear as possible.
I am using Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit on a DELL laptop. I am running Avast free and I am using internet just for studies (I am a researcher in social studies).
I don't know what I did wrong but, somehow, yesterday my browsers -google chrome, mozilla firefox and internet explorer 9- were infected (without avast noticing it) by starsear.ch.
What that thing does is to make my homepage (following address deleted by moderator). It also directs some of my search to this website without me asking for it.

Can you please help me with removing it?

Thanks in advance for your help

biubou

I deleted the address you placed in as your link, as it is the very link which will pass the virus on to anyone who clicks it! davehc

Last edited by a moderator:

davehc

Microsoft MVP
Reaction score
Removal manually is a very involved process, and, from your comment, not something you should undertake.
You can try, here is a walkthrough

http://www.spyware-review.net/remove-starsear-ch/

But I would reccomend, as indicated on the page, that you google for and get a virus removal program deictaed to such viruses.

It is essential that you get rid of it as soon as possible. Apart from being mischievous, it is also a keylogger and is sending back information on any passwords and confidential information you are accessing from your computer.

Reaction score
Thank you davehc!!
I am downloading it now.
P.S. I did not place any address as my link but thanks for deleting it.

Reaction score
I run spyware doctor and it really found some infections I did not know I had but it didn't do anything about starsear.ch
And I do not really have money to buy all these anti virus who claim to clean.
Can anyone please have some more time to guide me through manual cleaning?

Thanks again for caring

biubou