Running 32 bit aps on 64 bit W7

Reaction score
Ok...so it sounds like it should have an easy answer...but.....
I just ordered a new (lots of bells and whistles) laptop with a 64 bit W7 OS. (Home Premium)

Come to find out that one of the principle uses for my laptop is connecting with my work server using a Cisco VPN. MY IT guys at work tell me that I can't run through the Cisco VPN on a 64 bit system. Ergo...I can't reach the office server with my new laptop.

My question is (I hope) simple;
is it possible to run a 64 bit W7 in a "reverse compatible" 32 bit mode. Can I switch back and forth between 32 and 64. I am a relative novice...please forgive me if my apparently simple question comes with a complicated answer!

Reaction score
Hi Trader Dick - Welcome to w7forums

First question that I have is, Why does your IT guy say that about a 64-Bit system.

I'm not that familiar with Virtualization technology. I know Windows 7 64-Bit has both 32-Bit & 64-Bit bowser. Windows 7 will even run 32-Bit & 64-Bit applications. Networks are run from many different operating systems. I really don't see a problem as long as the same protocols are used for communications within the network.

To answer the question. No there is not a 32-Bit mode, the OS will run 32-Bit natively.

Reaction score
Thanx for the prompt reply Clifford... the note I got back when I asked if the new computer would work with our system was:

That's a negative on the 64 bit unless you want to purchase the 64 bit client from cisco and reconfig your firewall.

That's why I asked if W7 64 bit could be run in a 32 bit mode. (office does not want to purchase the 64 bit VPN and does not want to reconfigure the firewall) since it seems I'm the only guy who has the foresight to upgrade his laptop. Go figure!