Please help with BSODs


Joined
Oct 23, 2010
Messages
32
Reaction score
1
Dear All,

I made this post in the hope that someone can help me.

I recently purchased a new computer which can be found below:

http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=FS-210-OK&groupid=43&catid=1444&subcat=

I have a ATI 5770 and Windows 7 64 bit.

Ever since I have had it i have been experiencing numerous BSOD's

The guys from the above company have replaced the CPU twice, the motherboard and memory once but im still getting them.

The BSOD errors were the following

  • System service exception
  • Memory management
  • Page Fault not in Fault Area (something like that)
I have uploaded the dump files

This computer has been an absolute nightmare and its so upsetting

Hope someone can help me here
 

Attachments

Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Nov 30, 2009
Messages
1,752
Reaction score
396
Hello there and welcome.

1) Uninstall Norton/Symantec in safe mode using this tool:

AV Uninstallers - Windows 7 Forums

Reboot and install MSE to replace it.

2) Update Realtek HD Audio driver:

RTKVHD64 RTKVHD64.sys Fri Mar 12 16:47:03 2010

RtkHDAudio

3) Uninstall Daemon Tools. Then use this installer/uninstaller to remove sptd.sys (do not update instead whil using):

DuplexSecure - Downloads

Reboot and install PowerISO to replace it. The emulation part of the software is free forever:

http://www.PowerISO.com

4) Update Realtek LAN driver:

Rt64win7 Rt64win7.sys Thu Feb 26 04:04:13 2009

RTL8111

5) atikmpag atikmpag.sys Thu May 27 12:25:36 2010

Update your video card driver:

Drivers & Support | GAME.AMD.COM

---------

Follow this all well and you are set, good to go. Enjoy. :)
 
Joined
Oct 23, 2010
Messages
32
Reaction score
1
thanks for getting back to me

But what does all that mean?

What did the dump files reveal that i had faulty drivers?

Just like to know so that i can inform the hardware company as we have both been puuling out our hair!

Thanks in advance
 
Joined
Nov 30, 2009
Messages
1,752
Reaction score
396
Hardware company doesn't know too much.

CPUs don't fail. Extremely rare.

Just follow what I've shown and it will be well. If you'd like to learn bsod analysis, you're surely welcome to stay on the site and become involved.

You're welcome.
 
Joined
Oct 23, 2010
Messages
32
Reaction score
1
thanks, just had another bsod whilst i was reading your post, now it said Bad Pool header

just realised that my motherboard is actually this (they must have changed it recently):

gigaybyte - ma78lmt-us2h

do your reccomendations still stand,. i.e. make those changes?
 

clifford_cooley

VIP Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
5,063
Reaction score
1,184
TorrentG, I was looking through the minidumps when I saw "caused by memory_corruption".

Could you shed some light as to what could cause this error?
Would this be a faulty memory module or at least a bad seated module causing this error?

Code:
Loading Dump File [D:\BSOD's\havocas\092010-17862-01.dmp]
Mini Kernel Dump File: Only registers and stack trace are available

Symbol search path is: SRV*c:\symbols*http://msdl.microsoft.com/download/symbols
Executable search path is: 
Windows 7 Kernel Version 7600 MP (4 procs) Free x64
Product: WinNt, suite: TerminalServer SingleUserTS Personal
Built by: 7600.16617.amd64fre.win7_gdr.100618-1621
Machine Name:
Kernel base = 0xfffff800`02e49000 PsLoadedModuleList = 0xfffff800`03086e50
Debug session time: Mon Sep 20 12:17:36.041 2010 (UTC - 5:00)
System Uptime: 0 days 0:01:52.462
Loading Kernel Symbols
...............................................................
................................................................
............................
Loading User Symbols
Loading unloaded module list
....
*******************************************************************************
*                                                                             *
*                        Bugcheck Analysis                                    *
*                                                                             *
*******************************************************************************

Use !analyze -v to get detailed debugging information.

BugCheck 3B, {c0000005, fffff80002e9ab24, fffff88006213e40, 0}

Probably caused by : memory_corruption ( nt!MiSelectImageBase+68 )

Followup: MachineOwner
---------

1: kd> !analyze -v
*******************************************************************************
*                                                                             *
*                        Bugcheck Analysis                                    *
*                                                                             *
*******************************************************************************

SYSTEM_SERVICE_EXCEPTION (3b)
An exception happened while executing a system service routine.
Arguments:
Arg1: 00000000c0000005, Exception code that caused the bugcheck
Arg2: fffff80002e9ab24, Address of the instruction which caused the bugcheck
Arg3: fffff88006213e40, Address of the context record for the exception that caused the bugcheck
Arg4: 0000000000000000, zero.

Debugging Details:
------------------


EXCEPTION_CODE: (NTSTATUS) 0xc0000005 - The instruction at 0x%08lx referenced memory at 0x%08lx. The memory could not be %s.

FAULTING_IP: 
nt!MiSelectImageBase+68
fffff800`02e9ab24 664185402c      test    word ptr [r8+2Ch],ax

CONTEXT:  fffff88006213e40 -- (.cxr 0xfffff88006213e40)
rax=0000000000002000 rbx=fffff80003070ac0 rcx=0000000078000000
rdx=fffff8a007892920 rsi=fffff8a007a1b770 rdi=000000000000000d
rip=fffff80002e9ab24 rsp=fffff88006214810 rbp=fffff8a007892920
 r8=7ffff8a007892fb0  r9=0000000000010bff r10=ffffffffffffffff
r11=0000000000000040 r12=fffffa8004fd06a0 r13=fffff6fc4005bb20
r14=fffff8a007892920 r15=0000000000000001
iopl=0         nv up ei pl nz ac pe cy
cs=0010  ss=0018  ds=002b  es=002b  fs=0053  gs=002b             efl=00010213
nt!MiSelectImageBase+0x68:
fffff800`02e9ab24 664185402c      test    word ptr [r8+2Ch],ax ds:002b:7ffff8a0`07892fdc=????
Resetting default scope

CUSTOMER_CRASH_COUNT:  1

DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID:  VISTA_DRIVER_FAULT

BUGCHECK_STR:  0x3B

PROCESS_NAME:  LWEMon.exe

CURRENT_IRQL:  0

LAST_CONTROL_TRANSFER:  from 0000000000000000 to fffff80002e9ab24

STACK_TEXT:  
fffff880`06214810 00000000`00000000 : 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 : nt!MiSelectImageBase+0x68


FOLLOWUP_IP: 
nt!MiSelectImageBase+68
fffff800`02e9ab24 664185402c      test    word ptr [r8+2Ch],ax

SYMBOL_STACK_INDEX:  0

SYMBOL_NAME:  nt!MiSelectImageBase+68

FOLLOWUP_NAME:  MachineOwner

MODULE_NAME: nt

DEBUG_FLR_IMAGE_TIMESTAMP:  4c1c44a9

STACK_COMMAND:  .cxr 0xfffff88006213e40 ; kb

IMAGE_NAME:  memory_corruption

FAILURE_BUCKET_ID:  X64_0x3B_nt!MiSelectImageBase+68

BUCKET_ID:  X64_0x3B_nt!MiSelectImageBase+68

Followup: MachineOwner
---------
 
Joined
Nov 30, 2009
Messages
1,752
Reaction score
396
That's the anti-virus causing video corruption.

0x3b errors are when the video driver passes bad data to the kernel code.

The corruption of the a/v causes this.
 

Fire cat

Established Member
VIP Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2010
Messages
1,157
Reaction score
191
Ask TorrentG :p

I can analyze crash dumps, find the source of the problem, but not the solution...
 
Joined
Oct 23, 2010
Messages
32
Reaction score
1
thanks will do

what does that do? i would like to learn from this forum as well as sort this out
 

Fire cat

Established Member
VIP Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2010
Messages
1,157
Reaction score
191
Open a command prompt and type in that command. If it asks you if you want to schedule to the next reboot, type Y at the prompt.

It will check your drive for corrupt system files and try to recover them.
 
Joined
Oct 23, 2010
Messages
32
Reaction score
1
ok i ran chkdsk

but just got another blue screen and also a black screen (dumps attached)

appreciate if someone could take a look
 

Attachments

Joined
Oct 23, 2010
Messages
32
Reaction score
1
i also noticed, i'm getting a lot of "Internet Explorer has stopped working" messages. Sometimes the crashes just happen right after this message.

Could the problem be related to this?
 
Ad

Advertisements


Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top