Playing cards flashing in Microsoft games

Discussion in 'alt.windows7.general' started by SC Tom, Jul 10, 2012.

  1. SC Tom

    Ed Cryer Guest

    Re: Playing cards flashing in Microsoft games - RESOLVED!!!!

    SC Tom wrote:
    >
    >
    > "Jeff Layman" <> wrote in message
    > news:jtmso0$51e$...
    >> On 12/07/2012 14:55, SC Tom wrote:
    >>
    >> (snip - see SC Tom's post for info)
    >>
    >> Thanks for posting.
    >>
    >> But I'd wondered why you'd said "Resolved" instead of "Solved". Why
    >> should only the MS games have been affected?
    >>
    >> I think your problem deserves a high position in the "Weird and
    >> Unexpected" league!
    >>

    >
    > I'm not sure why it would only be the MS games. The only thing I can
    > come up with (and mind you, this is a pretty big stretch) is that there
    > was some relation between the KB API and the selection API in the games.
    > Maybe because they're both Microsoft games? Got me; I'm not that good of
    > a programmer (besides, I'm sure it wasn't written in Basic :) );
    > assembly language was never my forte'.
    >
    > The solution 'resolved' my situation, and it may 'solve' someone else's
    > similar problem, or, it 'solved' my problem, and may 'resolve' someone
    > else's also?
    >
    > To quote from
    > http://www.usingenglish.com/forum/ask-teacher/3330-solve-vs-resolve.html
    >
    > "Both words have meanings that overlap and those that don't. The word
    > "solve" is confined to "finding a solution". One can solve a problem,
    > but one can also solve a puzzle, solve a mathematics equation, etc. One
    > does not usually resolve puzzles or equations. One can also resolve a
    > problem. This can mean finding a solution, but it usually extends beyond
    > that -- to making the problem go away. "
    > "But to my best knowledge, to resolve also means to find a satisfactory
    > solution to a problem."


    You've certainly earned that success. You tried everything going. The
    effort you put into all that deserves full applause.
    I was about to suggest restoring the image (after taking one of the
    current position), and if it went away then we could rule out hardware
    issues.

    This one has an extremely high weirdo factor. But I wonder if it is
    unique because I found this in a Google search;
    http://tinyurl.com/dxjl48w
    "rubeckf" seems to have the same phenomenon.

    Ed
     
    Ed Cryer, Jul 12, 2012
    #41
    1. Advertisements

  2. SC Tom

    SC Tom Guest

    "G. Morgan" <> wrote in message
    news:...
    > SC Tom wrote:
    >
    >>
    >>
    >>"G. Morgan" <> wrote in message
    >>news:...
    >>> SC Tom wrote:
    >>>
    >>>>If anyone wants to see what it looks like, here's a video of it. Not the
    >>>>best quality, but you'll get the idea:
    >>>>
    >>>>http://tinypic.com/usermedia.php?uo=xDroBU9Q+PQ1EuhDa8XuA4h4l5k2TGxc
    >>>
    >>> Tom,
    >>>
    >>> How about creating a new user in the control panel and login as that
    >>> user to see if It's a problem with your profile settings.
    >>>

    >>
    >>Read at the end of the thread and you'll see I figured it out.

    >
    >
    > Just saw it, glad you got it!
    >
    >>One of the things I did earlier was log in as the hidden administrator,
    >>and
    >>the problem repeated itself with that user also. That was why I didn't
    >>create a new user for myself (and what a PITA that is, almost more so than
    >>troubleshooting this :) ).

    >
    > I was grasping too... I didn't see it on your list so I figured it
    > couldn't hurt. ;-)


    That was in one of the later replies. We were thinking along the same lines,
    I think :)
     
    SC Tom, Jul 12, 2012
    #42
    1. Advertisements

  3. SC Tom

    SC Tom Guest

    Re: Playing cards flashing in Microsoft games - RESOLVED!!!!

    "Ed Cryer" <> wrote in message
    news:jtn267$tik$...

    >
    > You've certainly earned that success. You tried everything going. The
    > effort you put into all that deserves full applause.
    > I was about to suggest restoring the image (after taking one of the
    > current position), and if it went away then we could rule out hardware
    > issues.
    >
    > This one has an extremely high weirdo factor. But I wonder if it is unique
    > because I found this in a Google search;
    > http://tinyurl.com/dxjl48w
    > "rubeckf" seems to have the same phenomenon.
    >

    Thanks! Unfortunately, I think an image restoration would have shortly
    started doing the same thing. The one thing I still don't understand is why
    I wasn't seeing this earlier; it's not like I installed the new UPS and
    software and the problem started. It's been a good month since I did that.
    Maybe it was in conjunction with a MS security update or something, I don't
    know.

    Google missed that one. I found all the Answers forums ones, along with
    other Win7 user sites, but it didn't show that one from TechNet was near the
    top, I guess. I also posted on Answers, but the only reply was one
    suggesting I do a couple of items that I already had listed as tried. I got
    much better suggestions from this newsgroup; I still wish (along with many
    other users) that Microsoft hadn't abandoned the groups, and went to the
    forum format.

    I posted a reply to "rubeckf" with a link to the video so he can see if
    that's the same as his, and to my post in the Answers forum, where I also
    posted the solution.

    Thanks for your support!
    --
    SC Tom
     
    SC Tom, Jul 12, 2012
    #43
  4. On Thu, 12 Jul 2012 07:34:48 -0400, SC Tom wrote:

    > "Jeff Layman" <> wrote in message
    > news:jtm5b5$k8g$...
    >> On 12/07/2012 01:25, SC Tom wrote:
    >>> If anyone wants to see what it looks like, here's a video of it. Not the
    >>> best quality, but you'll get the idea:
    >>>
    >>> http://tinypic.com/usermedia.php?uo=xDroBU9Q+PQ1EuhDa8XuA4h4l5k2TGxc

    >>
    >> That /is/ weird. Does unchecking "Display animations" in the options make
    >> any difference?
    >>

    > I can open Options using F5, but I can't select anything since it won't
    > 'settle' on any item. I tried tabbing between each and using the space bar
    > to try and select something randomly, but I'm obviously not quick enough to
    > do it. So, the answer is "I don't know." :)


    Try using keyboard shortcuts (if available) instead of mouse clicks to
    see if that helps you navigate.

    It might be hard to see them with all that flashing, but it seems worth
    trying.

    --
    Gene E. Bloch (Stumbling Bloch)
     
    Gene E. Bloch, Jul 12, 2012
    #44
  5. On Thu, 12 Jul 2012 05:59:05 -0400, Paul wrote:

    > I fired up my Windows 7 laptop, and ran the Solitaire on there,
    > and the card "highlighting" is what makes the outer edge of the
    > card flash. So the effect you see, is what happens when a card
    > is selected. The game thinks the mouse cursor is sliding over the
    > stacks of cards, at high speed. (Yet, in your video, it's pretty
    > obvious the mouse cursor *isn't* flying around. It's just the input
    > events the program is getting, that make it think so.)


    That's what I think too.

    --
    Gene E. Bloch (Stumbling Bloch)
     
    Gene E. Bloch, Jul 12, 2012
    #45
  6. Re: Playing cards flashing in Microsoft games - RESOLVED!!!!

    On Thu, 12 Jul 2012 09:55:17 -0400, SC Tom wrote:

    > and plugged the KB into the hub. Worked great, no problems, no
    > more error messages from the UPS.


    Thanks for telling us, and thanks for adding your post to the forum that
    Ed Cryer mentioned. Let's hope that solves the problem for that person
    (oops - I mean 'resolves').

    I quoted just the one line above, because I also had troubles using a
    mouse and a keyboard that were plugged into a hub together. I should
    have thought of that, since the behavior was similar.

    But in my case it only happened when I pressed F8 on windows boot to get
    into the boot screen. The cursor flew through the menu at high speed,
    and I would click a few times, hoping to get Safe Mode or whatever, but
    usually failing.

    I learned to plug the devices into real ports when I planned to press
    F8, but I often forgot...

    Anyway, I now have a matched KB and mouse connecting wirelessly to a
    single USB dongle. Happier am I.

    --
    Gene E. Bloch (Stumbling Bloch)
     
    Gene E. Bloch, Jul 12, 2012
    #46
  7. SC Tom

    ...winston Guest

    Re: Playing cards flashing in Microsoft games - RESOLVED!!!!

    Great troubleshooting. Well done.
    Thanks for the follow-up.

    --
    ....winston
    msft mvp mail


    "SC Tom" wrote in message news:jtml06$a2q$...

    Let me go back a few years. . .
    A long time ago, I bought an Xbox360 controller for my PC (running XP at the
    time). Every time I plugged it in, my sound would mess up; it would sound
    like someone had slashed the speaker, like a Jimi Hendrix fuzzbox. At first,
    I thought it might have been a driver conflict, but I figured out that the
    controller was drawing almost 500mA of current from my USB bus, and that was
    dragging the whole system down; hence the problem with my USB sound card
    (device?). To solve that problem, I bought a powered hub to use for the
    controller and any other USB devices, leaving the sound plugged directly
    into the back of the MB. Worked like a champ throughout my XP years and
    right into installing Win7 a couple of months ago on this machine.

    About the same time that I installed Win7, my old UPS gave up the ghost
    (battery died, and so did the charging circuit- I now have a spare battery
    in the closet), so I bought a new one. It uses a USB port for the interface
    with the computer for notifications, shutdown on power loss, etc. I plugged
    it into the hub, and it would work fine for a while, then display "Lost
    connection with UPS." I didn't have any spare ports on the MB, so I
    unplugged my Sidewinder X4 keyboard from the MB, plugged the UPS USB cable
    into there, and plugged the KB into the hub. Worked great, no problems, no
    more error messages from the UPS.

    Then this started with the MS games. After all the other things I had
    already tried, I decided to uninstall both IntelliType and IntelliPoint and
    see if either of them might be the culprit (after reading Paul's post).
    Didn't make any difference (I had already tried rebooting without the KB
    plugged in). Then I figured I'd plug in my PS/2 keyboard and mouse,
    unplugging my USB KB and mouse dongle. Hallelujah, it worked! As I was
    swapping all this around, I remembered the problem that I had with the UPS
    program, and thought "Duh!" So I shut it down, plugged the mouse and KB into
    MB ports (disabled the UPS notification program for now), booted up, and
    everything worked as it should. I still hadn't re-installed the Intelli-
    programs, so I installed them one at a time, rebooting and testing between
    installations. It all is still working, except the UPS software since I
    don't have a MB port for it. No biggie, though- I rarely leave my PC on when
    I'm gone from the house, and I've got enough sense to turn it off if there's
    no power.

    I want to thank everyone for their suggestions and ideas, especially Ed from
    talking me out of reimaging my drive, since I would have had the same
    problem again eventually. I still don't know why the problem didn't manifest
    itself immediately; maybe it was triggered by a new update or something (I
    haven't installed any new hardware or software since the UPS program). But
    at this point, don't know, don't care. I'm just happy that everything's as
    it should be. It's not that being without Solitaire would be an
    earth-sending event, but I'm sure some of you other OC geeks know where I'm
    coming from :)

    Thanks again to all!
    --
    SC Tom
     
    ...winston, Jul 12, 2012
    #47
  8. SC Tom

    SC Tom Guest

    Re: Playing cards flashing in Microsoft games - RESOLVED!!!!

    "Gene E. Bloch" <> wrote in message
    news:1poi5p3yf0o52$...
    > On Thu, 12 Jul 2012 09:55:17 -0400, SC Tom wrote:
    >
    >> and plugged the KB into the hub. Worked great, no problems, no
    >> more error messages from the UPS.

    >
    > Thanks for telling us, and thanks for adding your post to the forum that
    > Ed Cryer mentioned. Let's hope that solves the problem for that person
    > (oops - I mean 'resolves').
    >
    > I quoted just the one line above, because I also had troubles using a
    > mouse and a keyboard that were plugged into a hub together. I should
    > have thought of that, since the behavior was similar.
    >
    > But in my case it only happened when I pressed F8 on windows boot to get
    > into the boot screen. The cursor flew through the menu at high speed,
    > and I would click a few times, hoping to get Safe Mode or whatever, but
    > usually failing.
    >
    > I learned to plug the devices into real ports when I planned to press
    > F8, but I often forgot...
    >
    > Anyway, I now have a matched KB and mouse connecting wirelessly to a
    > single USB dongle. Happier am I.
    >

    The weird thing was (well, one weird thing) that only the KB was plugged
    into the hub (not a wireless KB). The mouse dongle was plugged into the MB.

    Do you like the wireless KB? Did you get one of the MS Desktop sets?

    Solves, resolves, tom-a-to, tom-ah-to :)
    --
    SC Tom
     
    SC Tom, Jul 12, 2012
    #48
  9. SC Tom

    SC Tom Guest

    Re: Playing cards flashing in Microsoft games - RESOLVED!!!!

    Thanks! I'm just glad I got it fixed; I hate little nagging things like that
    ;-)
    --
    SC Tom


    "...winston" <> wrote in message
    news:jtn6sc$s2v$...
    > Great troubleshooting. Well done.
    > Thanks for the follow-up.
    >
    > --
    > ...winston
    > msft mvp mail
    >
    >
    > "SC Tom" wrote in message news:jtml06$a2q$...
    >
    > Let me go back a few years. . .
    > A long time ago, I bought an Xbox360 controller for my PC (running XP at
    > the
    > time). Every time I plugged it in, my sound would mess up; it would sound
    > like someone had slashed the speaker, like a Jimi Hendrix fuzzbox. At
    > first,
    > I thought it might have been a driver conflict, but I figured out that the
    > controller was drawing almost 500mA of current from my USB bus, and that
    > was
    > dragging the whole system down; hence the problem with my USB sound card
    > (device?). To solve that problem, I bought a powered hub to use for the
    > controller and any other USB devices, leaving the sound plugged directly
    > into the back of the MB. Worked like a champ throughout my XP years and
    > right into installing Win7 a couple of months ago on this machine.
    >
    > About the same time that I installed Win7, my old UPS gave up the ghost
    > (battery died, and so did the charging circuit- I now have a spare battery
    > in the closet), so I bought a new one. It uses a USB port for the
    > interface
    > with the computer for notifications, shutdown on power loss, etc. I
    > plugged
    > it into the hub, and it would work fine for a while, then display "Lost
    > connection with UPS." I didn't have any spare ports on the MB, so I
    > unplugged my Sidewinder X4 keyboard from the MB, plugged the UPS USB cable
    > into there, and plugged the KB into the hub. Worked great, no problems, no
    > more error messages from the UPS.
    >
    > Then this started with the MS games. After all the other things I had
    > already tried, I decided to uninstall both IntelliType and IntelliPoint
    > and
    > see if either of them might be the culprit (after reading Paul's post).
    > Didn't make any difference (I had already tried rebooting without the KB
    > plugged in). Then I figured I'd plug in my PS/2 keyboard and mouse,
    > unplugging my USB KB and mouse dongle. Hallelujah, it worked! As I was
    > swapping all this around, I remembered the problem that I had with the UPS
    > program, and thought "Duh!" So I shut it down, plugged the mouse and KB
    > into
    > MB ports (disabled the UPS notification program for now), booted up, and
    > everything worked as it should. I still hadn't re-installed the Intelli-
    > programs, so I installed them one at a time, rebooting and testing between
    > installations. It all is still working, except the UPS software since I
    > don't have a MB port for it. No biggie, though- I rarely leave my PC on
    > when
    > I'm gone from the house, and I've got enough sense to turn it off if
    > there's
    > no power.
    >
    > I want to thank everyone for their suggestions and ideas, especially Ed
    > from
    > talking me out of reimaging my drive, since I would have had the same
    > problem again eventually. I still don't know why the problem didn't
    > manifest
    > itself immediately; maybe it was triggered by a new update or something (I
    > haven't installed any new hardware or software since the UPS program). But
    > at this point, don't know, don't care. I'm just happy that everything's as
    > it should be. It's not that being without Solitaire would be an
    > earth-sending event, but I'm sure some of you other OC geeks know where
    > I'm
    > coming from :)
    >
    > Thanks again to all!
    > --
    > SC Tom
    >
     
    SC Tom, Jul 12, 2012
    #49
  10. Re: Playing cards flashing in Microsoft games - RESOLVED!!!!

    On Thu, 12 Jul 2012 15:21:01 -0400, SC Tom wrote:

    > "Gene E. Bloch" <> wrote in message
    > news:1poi5p3yf0o52$...
    >> On Thu, 12 Jul 2012 09:55:17 -0400, SC Tom wrote:
    >>
    >>> and plugged the KB into the hub. Worked great, no problems, no
    >>> more error messages from the UPS.

    >>
    >> Thanks for telling us, and thanks for adding your post to the forum that
    >> Ed Cryer mentioned. Let's hope that solves the problem for that person
    >> (oops - I mean 'resolves').
    >>
    >> I quoted just the one line above, because I also had troubles using a
    >> mouse and a keyboard that were plugged into a hub together. I should
    >> have thought of that, since the behavior was similar.
    >>
    >> But in my case it only happened when I pressed F8 on windows boot to get
    >> into the boot screen. The cursor flew through the menu at high speed,
    >> and I would click a few times, hoping to get Safe Mode or whatever, but
    >> usually failing.
    >>
    >> I learned to plug the devices into real ports when I planned to press
    >> F8, but I often forgot...
    >>
    >> Anyway, I now have a matched KB and mouse connecting wirelessly to a
    >> single USB dongle. Happier am I.
    >>

    > The weird thing was (well, one weird thing) that only the KB was plugged
    > into the hub (not a wireless KB). The mouse dongle was plugged into the MB.
    >
    > Do you like the wireless KB? Did you get one of the MS Desktop sets?
    >
    > Solves, resolves, tom-a-to, tom-ah-to :)


    1. Hubs can be problematic in various situations, even powered ones, and
    not just HID devices. Anyway, my problem KB/mouse were wired. Actually,
    I tried a couple with the hub, including a KB with a built-in hub. Same
    problem.

    Maybe it was the computer, not the devices. I can't be sure, since I
    don't have the computer anymore.

    2. My current problem free wireless set are Logitech. The KB is K520 &
    the mouse is M310. I got them on sale, but they weren't all that
    expensive anyway, maybe $US40. They were packaged as a set.

    I don't like MS mice. For me, they always seem to stick rather than
    slide. Also, some of them lack detents on the scroll wheel, and others
    have weak detents, which also bugs me.

    --
    Gene E. Bloch (Stumbling Bloch)
     
    Gene E. Bloch, Jul 12, 2012
    #50
  11. SC Tom

    Kathy Z

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you! I've been having this problem on and off for a long time. Reading this thread solved my problem. I keep an xbox controller connected to my PC for rare usage in some games. After using it, I would toss it on a shelf where sometimes a button would be continually pressed. I removed the controller and no more flashing.
     
    Kathy Z, Jan 10, 2014
    #51
  12. SC Tom

    Michael Mullen

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had exactly the same issue with solitaire in Win 7 64 bit. What worked for me was to open up the screen resolution from right clicking the desktop and downgrading the resolution from the default 1980 X 1080 to 1280 X 720 (I think it is 720). Apply the lower resolution and test solitaire for screen flashes upon mouse clicks. For me there were no screen flashes. Finally I reset the screen resolution to the 9180X1080 and solitaire was fine.
    I hope this helps someone and yes I tried a multitude of "more drastic" steps prior to stumbling onto to this solution.
     
    Michael Mullen, Oct 12, 2014
    #52
  13. SC Tom

    robt1226

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
     
    robt1226, Feb 3, 2016
    #53
  14. SC Tom

    robt1226

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Had the same problem,tried everything,nothing worked.I then put my old video card back in and guess what, the problem was fixed. My guess is your video card is going bad too.
     
    robt1226, Feb 3, 2016
    #54
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
  1. Blackwatch89
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    2,750
    Kougar
    Mar 2, 2010
  2. illwill1114

    Kicked back to desktop while playing games

    illwill1114, Sep 4, 2010, in forum: Windows 7 Support
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    3,392
    illwill1114
    Sep 4, 2010
  3. shepujw

    PC Crashes BSOD Playing Games

    shepujw, Dec 21, 2010, in forum: Crashes, BSODs and Debugging
    Replies:
    16
    Views:
    3,388
    shepujw
    Jan 10, 2011
  4. ethanchu

    BSOD while playing games

    ethanchu, Dec 21, 2010, in forum: Crashes, BSODs and Debugging
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    1,731
    cybercore
    Dec 25, 2010
  5. andsome

    SD cards and SDHC cards

    andsome, Jan 28, 2011, in forum: Hardware
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    2,495
    andsome
    Jan 31, 2011
  6. Gallez
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    2,241
    Capt.Jack Sparrow
    Jul 13, 2011
  7. SC Tom

    Playing cards flashing in Microsoft games- Update

    SC Tom, Jul 14, 2012, in forum: alt.windows7.general
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    1,131
    SC Tom
    Jul 14, 2012
  8. Dyldonic
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    16,367
    Dyldonic
    Jul 15, 2014
Loading...