SOLVED New computer, what do I eliminate and...

Reaction score
what should I install? I've taken all the advice here, but I had to strip this thing and take it back to factory specs, so it's once again loaded with a bunch o' crap that's useless to me. A lot of it is HP's bells & whistles, so once again, I'm here to ask for some serious handholding from a Windows wizard.

I've related before that I'm a writer, and now a publisher and though I've left all my gaming to work on my businesses, I'm still a gamer and eventually hope to have the time and expertise to enjoy some of the common rpg utilities (Ventrilo, Skype, MapTools, lots of others out there). I also have mapping software I need to re-install.

However, I've also gotten into internet marketing and that probably where I got into trouble with this Cadillac of a computer. I need to be able to experience audio and video and create such files. I'm really biting off more than I can personally handle, but the Manx and Arkie in me make me stubborn as all get-out, so I'm here for the long haul as painful as it might be.

I saved my data, but my bookmarks and programs are gone, so I need to rebuild, but I want to do it right this time. I'm essentially back at square one with this machine and there's a lot under the hood that I'm just not interested in, but I don't have the knowledge necessary to properly cull the excess. Who wants to tweak with me, just a foolish old man?

Reaction score
Skype is installed, but that damned password crap is doing me in.

Reaction score
I'm in, but not sure I want to try and tackle this tonight. I've added you as a contact, so we just need to decided a time convenient to both of us across the pond.

Reaction score