New Computer Purchase - Recommendations Required

Reaction score
Hi Folks,

I'm new to Windows 7 Forums and you may well remember my recent introduction thread.

I wish to purchase a new desktop PC running Windows 7 Pro (probably 64 bit). So, I'm trying to decide which manufacturer can deliver the goods. I don't really want to go with one of the big boys unless essential. Instead, I fancy one of the UK manufacturers but, reading around, I wonder if some of these companies are still trying to find their feet. In saying that, I am more than happy to be proved wrong.

Does anyone have any manufacturer recommendations and perhaps even specific products? I'm looking at the likes of an Intel Core i5 machine with at least 4GB RAM. I'm not a gamer but I participate in the World Community Grid - so the PC is required to do a lot of number-crunching.

Thanks in advance.

JPC

Nibiru2012

Quick Scotty, beam me up!
Reaction score
Well, if it was me I would build it myself since you can usually put better quality components and the type you really need. Building your own system is very easy. It's not rocket science believe me. If you can use Phillips # 1 & #2 screwdrivers and plug in cables you can do this.

I don't know anything about British computer makers and such. Maybe davehc can help you on this one or Veedaz.

Ian

Administrator
Reaction score
Another thumbs up for building your own - it's good fun :D

If you're looking to avoid one of the big companies, then Novatech.co.uk may be worth checking out. I've not used them myself, but I've heard positive things from other people.

Overclockers.co.uk also have an excellent repuation, although they can be a tad more expensive. :)

Reaction score
Hi Folks,

Thanks for the feedback and suggestions of manufacturers.

Currently, I do not have time to build my own PC and things will remain that way for a long time. So, buying a pre-built machine is the only viable option.

Thanks again.

JPC

Nibiru2012

Quick Scotty, beam me up!