need walktrough.(Buying laptop and W7)

Reaction score
Hi, just noticed this place and I figured it would be excellent for answering my current questions...

I'm buying an Asus X61SL-6X151C on a Swedish Website( I live in Sweden) http://www.computercity.se/Products/Product.aspx?id=2743014

In my opinion it's a great computer for a low price.

However, this Asus has Windows Vista Home Premium already installed and I'm planning on buying a Windows 7 Home Premium upgrade in the same run.
Then in another forum, I recieved the question "32 bit or 64 bit?"
And one problem is, I have no idea how to know if I'm buying 64 bit OS or what it even is.
And if I'm gonna upgrade the Vista on that computer right away, do I need to download specific updates in order for the W7 to work?
And yes, it is my first time buying an actual computer, so it's alot of questions for me at the moment.

So, if theres anyone kind enough to help me out, I'd be really grateful.

Reaction score
Hello RallyGunde - Welcome to w7forums

The link you provided states the version of windows that comes with the laptop.
Microsoft Vista Home Premium (32-bitars)
If you purchase Windows 7 OEM make sure its a 32-Bit version otherwise you will not be able to do the upgrade. It is required to do a clean install when changing from a 32-Bit OS to 64-Bit OS. Downloading specific drivers should only be needed when doing a clean install. After installing Windows 7 Upgrade there maybe Driver updates available.

P.S.
I forgot to mention the the Retail Boxes comes with both Windows 7 32-Bit and Windows 7 64-Bit DVD's

Last edited:
Reaction score
So basically, I need to buy a real Windows 7 Home Premium and not just an upgrade, in order to get 64?
But how big is the difference between 64 and 32? Just the optimized RAM?

and uh, do I need Vista SP 2 or something for the W7 upgrade?

Last edited:
Reaction score