SOLVED My laptop is freezing

Reaction score
Since yesterday, my laptop has started to freeze after a length of period. The first time, VLC was playing and the second time I was using Firefox. I left it on overnight to test, it was only on the desktop and it had indeed froze again.

I'm a real amateur when it comes to stuff like this, so I haven't the faintest idea where I should start. Could it be my BIOS? Or maybe a virus?

Any help will be greatly appreciated! Thank you in advance!

TrainableMan

^ The World's First ^
Reaction score
BIOS ... not likely. If you haven't recently changed any settings in your BIOS then I would say almost definitively, no.

Virus, sure, very possible; run a safe mode scan:
Download TDSSKiller and RKill from our Freeware DB. If you do not have an anti-virus then download, install, and allow to update Malwarebytes Anti-Malware (MBAM). Then reboot your system into safe mode without networking (Reboot and, when it says "Starting Windows," Press F8; If you get a message asking continue in safe mode or perform a system restore, choose continue in safe mode). Now run TDSSKiller and after that run RKill and after that run a full virus scan. The first two will take maybe 5 minutes each but a full virus scan can take anywhere from 30 minutes to several hours depending on your hard drive size and number of files.

Booting in safe mode makes sure only minimal services/programs are started. TDSSKiller is designed specifically to look for rootkits. RKill is designed to stop the stealthing programs that hide/protect/regenerate some nasty viruses. Running these first will help ensure your A/V has the absolute best chance of cleaning up infected files.

TrainableMan

^ The World's First ^
Reaction score