SOLVED I think I need some technical advice please, before purchase.

Reaction score
Hi - I'm new here today, so I thought I'd say hello from Sunny Devon.
I would be very glad of some expert advice and directives please on Windows 7 as a new system.

I'm about to retire my windows XP Home PC to use as a spare and buy a new PC online from one of the large Companies. I don't do gaming, but I do spend a lot of time doing graphics with a very good old Paintshop Pro 7 program that I've been using for more than 10 years. Also lots of sound editing and music recording stuff and the occasional burning of DVDs and CDs
I've probably got to buy a new PC with Windows 7 and most of them come pre-installed with 64bit Home Premium on them. I've been told that lots of old 32bit and 16bit stuff won't work on windows 7.

What should I do about this? Should I try to find a Windows 7 with 32bit already on it?
Can the Windows 7 64bit run any kind of XP emulation way so that I can install programs like PSP 7 or Audacity Sound Recording Software; DVD writing programs; Conversion Programs?
It would seem a waste to only use the new PC for email and web browsing and have to fire up the old one to do all my photographic stuff.
I have read about the speed of 64 bit and its use of RAM 4gb etc but I'm still confused about what mess I'm going to get into with Drivers and software.

I've tried GIMP for graphics on my Macbook and it's not nearly as flexible or easy to use as PSPro . I think I'll have enough problem losing my Outlook Express and having to run Thunderbird Mail so it seems that upgrading is going to be the usual bore that we have come to expect ever since I upgraded Windows 3.1 for workgroups in 1995.