Windows Desktop Background Photos

Reaction score
I am unable to find what folder where the Windows Desktop Background Photos are. Does anyone know where this folder is and the name of the folder? Thanks

Reaction score
Look in the registry for
[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Control Panel\Desktop]​

under this key
"Wallpaper"="_________"​

There you will see the location of your current wallpaper.

Kalario

Aquarius
Reaction score
How do I look at the registry (read-only of course)? I have never done this before, as the registry scares me. :)

Reaction score
I think he meant the default Windows wallpapers that come along with OS. They can be found at: X:\Windows\Web\Wallpaper

(X = Drive Letter, eg. C)

TrainableMan

^ The World's First ^
Reaction score
Kal, in start menu search type regedit. And it's NOT read-only, if you change anything it will be saved, so delete or modify with caution. It's like playing with matches, they can be quite useful when used properly or they can burn the house down.

Reaction score
Couldn't find them in Registry

When I went to Control Panel and then to Change Background, there were photos in C:\Users\Rod\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\Themes, but when I went to C:\Users\Rod, there was no folder AppData. How does one find the hidden folders in Windows 7?

Nibiru2012

Quick Scotty, beam me up!
Reaction score
Wittyservant7 - We "believe" you're talking about the Desktop Wallpapers.

Firecat gave you the info once, but here it is again. You don't need to use regedit or any fancy "tricks".

Go to: C Local Drive, then Windows Folder, then Web folder, then Wallpapers. This is how it looks: C:\Windows\Web\Wallpaper

If you want to delete the individual folders the you'll need to "Take Ownership" of the folder(s).

Reaction score