What is your Experience Index score?


Ian

Administrator
Joined
Oct 17, 2008
Messages
3,473
Reaction score
632
I've tried the Experience Index calculator in my VirtualBox installation to see how it rates. Surprisingly, it doesn't do as bad as I thought (although the graphics and ram scores are low, as I only assigned it 512MB).



How did you do on your install? :)
 

Attachments

Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jan 12, 2009
Messages
28
Reaction score
7
Hi Ian,

WOW, that's pretty low

It took me forever to get a screen shot because I'm using this funky Audio/Video keyboard where the normal keys are assigned to different functions.

The first screen shot is from my cheap $399.00 E-Machine which has 2GB of RAM, a NVidea 6100 nForce 405 graphics card, AMD (K8 Family) @2.41Ghzprocessor, NVidia nForce Network Adapter 128MB memory, VIA Envy24PT (Multi-channel). All on located on main board, except for the sound card. That window that appears in the screenshot, I could not remove it, but the rating for Calculations was 4.3 and memory was 3.9.

The second screenshot is from Vista, although I had Windows 7 on it for a short period of time. The performance index was the same. It has a Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q6600 @ 2.40GHz, NVIDIA GeForce 8500 GT 512 MB memory (HDMI), ASUSTeK Computer INC. (Burbank) board, ASUSTeK PureTV, Intel(R) 82566DC-2 Gigabit Network, Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Audio (optical in and out)

All I can say is Microsoft's system requirements only include the necessary hardware components, but if you really want performance, you'll have to update your hardware to a mid or high-end components for true performance.

Just a note, I don't know why the correct picture isn't showing up in my signature.
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Jan 18, 2009
Messages
26
Reaction score
4
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz
GeForce 8800 GTS
2 GB RAM DDR2 1066
150GB 10,000 RPM Raptor
ASUS P5K-E

Sad that I only score a 5.5 and that the HDD is not higher. It really irks me.
 

Attachments

Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
This is on my 3 year old $500 at the time work laptop. My score is 1.9 thanks to my hard drive. Surprisingly, my 512 MB RAM isn't the lowest rated score.

Matthew
 

Attachments

Joined
Jan 18, 2009
Messages
26
Reaction score
4
alright i'm 100% convinced now (thank you, katanna for my revelation!) M$ MUST be comparing our normal rotary hard disks to SSD performance, thus giving us a maximum rating of 5.9 for standard disks. Only a SSD is capable of anything higher. Really really irks me.
 

draceena

That Crazy Amazon Chick!
VIP Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2009
Messages
773
Reaction score
182
My VirtualBox is almost the same as yours Ian, but I've given my version more ram so I have slightly higher numbers on the second item. I don't have the screen capture, but my numbers are: 4.0 : 3.9 : 1 : 1 : 5.9
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jan 18, 2009
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
I don't even know what my rating is anymore, it doesn't work for me, I get some error message stating it couldn't complete (yet it worked when I first installed the OS)

But heres my stuff:

Operating System: Windows XP 64-bit / Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Mother Board: EVGA nForce 750i SLI
Processor: Intel Core 2 Quad CPU Q6600 2.40GHz ~ O.C.'d @ 3.6GHz
Memory: 8 GB DDR2 1066 RAM
Page File: 78 GB available
DirectX Version: DirectX 11
Video Cards: 2x NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS in SLI
Sound Card: Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS
Power Supply: Thermaltake 750W PSU
Mouse: Razor Death Adder
Keyboard: Ideazon Merc Stealth
Case: A-Top X-Blade
HDD's:
WD 250GB (XP 64 bit/Programs)
WD 250GB (Games)
Seagate 250GB (Media)
WD 80GB (Pagefile)
WD VelociRaptor 150GB 10,000 RPM (Windows 7 64bit)
 
Last edited:

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top