what cause the computer to think there is a USB problem


Joined
Oct 31, 2013
Messages
158
Reaction score
3
win7 / 64
and how do I find out which is the problem?
the warning does not stay.
one other oddity... the HP mouse is wireless and the last few days it has only started after a few moments not on wake up.
thanks all
 

Attachments

Ad

Advertisements

TrainableMan

^ The World's First ^
Moderator
Joined
May 10, 2010
Messages
9,339
Reaction score
1,584
The system could not find drivers on the device & does not have generic ones in windows it thinks it can use. If this is a new device & came with a CD then try installing drivers from there. If this is an old device that used to work then the usb port or the device may be going bad.
 
Joined
Oct 31, 2013
Messages
158
Reaction score
3
nothing is new.
when I look at driver it says no driver needed!
it seldom connects to the internet and I did a virus scan.
don't look good.
how do I find out which USB is the problem?

thanks
 

TrainableMan

^ The World's First ^
Moderator
Joined
May 10, 2010
Messages
9,339
Reaction score
1,584
its not a virus, it's a problem with the connection or the drivers. which device isn't working?
 

TrainableMan

^ The World's First ^
Moderator
Joined
May 10, 2010
Messages
9,339
Reaction score
1,584
This happens to old wired devices sometimes because the wiring inside breaks; you can often detect this early on because it works intermittently (the metal may make contact when the cable is in a certain position and not when in others). I've had this happen to at least 2 trackballs.

The only way this would normally affect a wireless mouse though, is at the receiver end plugged in to your computer. For wireless problems always try fresh batteries as the first step in troubleshooting.
 
Joined
Oct 31, 2013
Messages
158
Reaction score
3
thanks
I isolated the problem to a hub i bought a few months ago. came with a 3 year warranty so i hoped it was a good one. as if china could build anything good!
 
Ad

Advertisements

TrainableMan

^ The World's First ^
Moderator
Joined
May 10, 2010
Messages
9,339
Reaction score
1,584
but it could easily be the device rather than the hub. try plugging the device in a different slot & also try plugging a different device into the slot you suspect is bad.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Oct 31, 2013
Messages
158
Reaction score
3
thanks. i plugged everything into the ancient monitors built in hub. so far so good!
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top