Unable to Access SAMBA Share from Windows 7


Joined
Feb 22, 2014
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Hi All ,

I wanted to access some content which have been shared with the network in a SAMBA server. SAMBA server is working fine. I am able to access SMABA shared folder from my Windows XP box.

1. SAMBA server is in FEDORA 14 box and connected to wired LAN. (Broadband switch)
2. Windows OS's are running in my laptop. Host OS is Windows 7 and I have installed Windows XP as a guest OS in the Virtual BOX.
3. So , my Laptop access the network via WiFi.
4. All PC are in a common IP network. (192.168.1.*)
5. Fedora - 192.168.1.107 , Win 7 - 192.168.1.106 , Win XP - 192.168.1.105

Test Results

1. I am able to access the SAMBA share from Windows XP ( Installed in a Virtual Box )
2. But unable to access SAMBA share from Windows 7 ( which is my laptop's OS )
3.png

1.png

Please find attached image of the same.

I googled and found so many articles regarding this issue. But non of them are helped me to solve this issue.

Could you please help me to resolve this SAMBA share access issue from Windows 7 ?

Many Thanks
Luke.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Shintaro

Moderator
Joined
Mar 1, 2012
Messages
2,137
Reaction score
252
Are you able to ping the Fedora box from Windows 7 box?
Is the Windows 7 box in the same Work group as the Samba / Fedora.
Or From the Win XP box can you browse to a share on the Win 7 box?
Is the Samba box set as the browser master?
 
Joined
Feb 22, 2014
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Hi Shintaro,

Yes , I can ping to the Fedora box from Windows 7 PC and XP PC.
and windows 7 and Fedora in the same work group also Samba box set as the browser master.

domain master = Yes
local master = Yes
preferred master = Yes

Thanks for your support.

Luke.
 

Shintaro

Moderator
Joined
Mar 1, 2012
Messages
2,137
Reaction score
252
So from the WinXP box can you see a share on the Win 7 box?
 
Joined
Feb 22, 2014
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Yes Shintaro , I can access a shared folder in Windows 7 from Windows XP PC. I do have read / right permission too.
 

Shintaro

Moderator
Joined
Mar 1, 2012
Messages
2,137
Reaction score
252
Just to get things going, do you have the following on your Win 7 box:

Network and Sharing Center -> Advanced sharing settings

"PUBLIC" also in "Home or Work"
Turn on network discovery
Turn on File and Print sharing
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Feb 22, 2014
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Yeah, Network Discovery and File and Printer sharing ON , on both "Public" and "Home or work" .

Under Home of Work ,

1. Turn on Network discovery
2. Turn on file and printer sharing
3. Turn on sharing so anyone with network access can read and write files in the public folders
4. Use128-bit encryption to help protect file sharing connections.
5. Turn off password protected sharing
6. Allow windows to manage home group connections

under public,

1. Turn on Network discovery
2. Turn on file and printer sharing
3. Turn on sharing so anyone with network access can read and write files in the public folders
4. Use128-bit encryption to help protect file sharing connections.
5. Turn off password protected sharing

Thank you
Luke.
 

Shintaro

Moderator
Joined
Mar 1, 2012
Messages
2,137
Reaction score
252
What about on the Win 7 box:
Control Panel -> Network and Internet -> Network and Sharing center -> Local Area Connection (Or what ever your connection type is) -> Properties.
See that Client for Microsoft Networks and File and Printer sharing for Microsoft Networks are both ticked.

Also are you using the same user name login to the Win 7 and Win XP box?

On the Win 7 box, are you using some type of Firewall software that is blocking the NetBIOS/NetBEUI traffic?
If you are, maybe uninstall it for a short time.
 
Joined
Feb 22, 2014
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Yes , both "Client for Microsoft Networks" and "File and Printer sharing for Microsoft Networks" are ticked on my Wireless Network Connection which I am using to access the network. No LAN has been connected .

also I am using same user name for log in to Win 7 and Win XP.

Actually , I have never installed a Third party firewall software. I have enabled windows firewall.

However , Just for testing .... I just disabled it . But still unable to access. I am getting the same error message.

Thank you

Luke.
 

Shintaro

Moderator
Joined
Mar 1, 2012
Messages
2,137
Reaction score
252
Ok, last couple of ideas.

/etc/nsswitch.conf
Change “hosts: files dns” to “hosts: files dns wins”.

Make sure that your Win 7 box is a simple name like mycomputer NOT my-computer.

Try this in a terminal on your Fedora box:
Code:
nmblookup mycomputer
 
Joined
Feb 22, 2014
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Hi Shintaro ,

Thank you so much for the help.
----------------------------------------------------------

I did the modifications on Fedora Box /etc/nsswitch.conf

Win7 computer name is MycompWin7

I issued the command :

nmblookup MycompWin7 , and got the following results.

[root@planet ~]# nmblookup MycompWin7
querying MycompWin7 on 192.168.1.255
192.168.1.101 MycompWin7<00>

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
and when we issued smbclient :

[root@planet ~]# smbclient -L MycompWin7
Enter root's password:
Domain=[MYCOMPWIN7] OS=[Windows 7 Professional 7601 Service Pack 1] Server=[Windows 7 Professional 6.1]

Sharename Type Comment
--------- ---- -------
ADMIN$ Disk Remote Admin
C$ Disk Default share
images Disk
IPC$ IPC Remote IPC
Q$ Disk Default share
Users Disk
Domain=[MycompWin7] OS=[Windows 7 Professional 7601 Service Pack 1] Server=[Windows 7 Professional 6.1]

Server Comment
--------- -------

Workgroup Master
--------- -------

But no luck. still I am unable to access.

Regards
Luke.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Shintaro

Moderator
Joined
Mar 1, 2012
Messages
2,137
Reaction score
252
Try:
Put the Windows machines on static IP's.
Put the names and IP in the windows machines C:\Windows\System32\drivers\etc\hosts
For example 192.168.1.101 MycompWin7

And the same in the Fedora box /etc/resolv.conf

nbtstat command and netstat command might be of use.

As a last resort install a WINS server on one of the computers. It's pretty easy to do and get running.

Sorry I can't be of more help.
** Additional****
About Master Browser and a handy util.

Also you need to disable the Windows firewall service, not just disable the firewall.
 
Last edited:

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top