SOLVED Unable to Access Admin Tools through Control Panel


Elmer BeFuddled

Resident eejit
Joined
Jun 12, 2010
Messages
1,050
Reaction score
251
Getting to the Administrative Tools through the Control Panel is not my normal route.So when this I happened I don't know. But I clicked on the icon earlier today and got this warning message.


Now I've checked. There is an Administrative Tools folder at the address:
C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Administrative Tools\
There's also my "personal" one at:
C:\Users\Elmer B. Fuddled\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\

Shortcuts from the Start Menu and the Quick Launch all work OK.

So why is the Control Panel folder not opening?
 
Last edited:
Ad

Advertisements

davehc

Microsoft MVP
Joined
Jul 20, 2009
Messages
1,958
Reaction score
502
"Administrative_Tools " Is that a typo, Elmer? There should be no underscore in that address
 
Last edited:

Elmer BeFuddled

Resident eejit
Joined
Jun 12, 2010
Messages
1,050
Reaction score
251
"Administrative_Tools " Is that a typo, Elmer? There should be underscore in that address
Yeah, it's a typo on here. Blame it on Winhelponline.com, I cut and pasted off the web page, too lazy to type! Amended.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 7, 2010
Messages
1,279
Reaction score
141
Try this Elmer

Right-click Start Orb>Customize>scroll down toSystem Adminidtrative tools>Select Display As A Link In Start Menu. Why waste time in the Contol Panel when you can either do it that way or type it into the Start Menu's search box. I just tpyed administrative in the search box. It's the only result at the top. Tools>
Getting to the Administrative Tools through the Control Panel is not my normal route.So when this I happened I don't know. But I clicked on the icon earlier today and got this warning message.


Now I've checked. There is an Administrative Tools folder at the address:
C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Administrative Tools\
There's also my "personal" one at:
C:\Users\Elmer B. Fuddled\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\

Shortcuts from the Start Menu and the Quick Launch all work OK.

So why is the Control Panel folder not opening?
 

Elmer BeFuddled

Resident eejit
Joined
Jun 12, 2010
Messages
1,050
Reaction score
251
Why waste time in the Contol Panel........
That's actually my fix. I've got all the Admin Tools I use regularly in a folder in Quick Launch. I solved it by hiding the Admin Tools in the Control Panel. Out of sight, out of mind. :)

More curiosity than anything as to why that path to the folder was broken.
 

Elmer BeFuddled

Resident eejit
Joined
Jun 12, 2010
Messages
1,050
Reaction score
251
:eek: :eek: :eek: And then Elmer finds out it's also a Typo on his Admin Tools folder as well. :eek: :eek: :eek:
 
Ad

Advertisements

davehc

Microsoft MVP
Joined
Jul 20, 2009
Messages
1,958
Reaction score
502
If you are still interested? Have you tried copy and paste of the folder, to the Control Panel, from the location you specified (C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Administrative Tools\)
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top