The First BLUE SCREEN OF DEATH on my Inspiron 15z 5523 Help!


Joined
Aug 4, 2010
Messages
60
Reaction score
0
Hello,

Today, I got the first blue screen of death.

I was running the game "Prison Tycoon 4" under 1024 x 768 resolution and my screen recommended resolution is 1366 x 768 I got the blue screen right inside the game..



Can you please check if the game is the cause of this?

My system is Inspiron 15z 5523 - i7-3537U and it's not older than 2 months.

It is running Windows 8.1 Single Language
 

Attachments

Ad

Advertisements

TrainableMan

^ The World's First ^
Moderator
Joined
May 10, 2010
Messages
9,341
Reaction score
1,584
This is a Windows 7 forum, for Windows 8 questions please consider our sister site win8forums.

But for this bluescreen the DMP points to your video driver igdkmd64.sys dated 1/22/2014 6:42:16 PM. You might check the Intel driver update utility from Intel for a newer video driver.

Games are graphics intensive and perhaps it doesn't work well with your GPU, if it is only this specific game you may need to notify them. But first, check for Game Patches as they often tweak the game to work better when graphics problems are reported.
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2010
Messages
60
Reaction score
0
Thanks for the response.
But still how might the game be the cause?
It gave me a blue screen while I was at choosing a new career in the game.

But then when the system restarted, I tried it again, this time I didn't get any blue screens inside the game!!!??
 

clifford_cooley

VIP Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
5,063
Reaction score
1,184
I wouldn't really worry about the one BSOD. It is the repetition that you need to worry about. Having one BSOD could have been caused by anything and may not necessarily happen again.
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2010
Messages
60
Reaction score
0
Thanks for the response.
So it's not neccessary for the game to cause another BSOD even if it was the cause at the first time?
 
Ad

Advertisements

TrainableMan

^ The World's First ^
Moderator
Joined
May 10, 2010
Messages
9,341
Reaction score
1,584
That one points to iaStorA.sys. Did you run the Intel driver update program I suggested?

When a bunch of different things show up as BSODs it is also a good idea to run a virus scan in safe mode as explained HERE and if that shows clear try an windows defender offline scan.
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2010
Messages
60
Reaction score
0
Yes it showed me to download the latest 12.9.0.1001
and then I got this BSOD after few hours.

I think I will reverse back to the previous installed Intel Rapid Storage Technology??
 

TrainableMan

^ The World's First ^
Moderator
Joined
May 10, 2010
Messages
9,341
Reaction score
1,584
There are many Intel drivers. At the time a video driver was the best shot at resolving the first DMP.

What driver(s) specifically were suggested?
Are you saying it suggested "Intel Rapid Storage Technology 12.9.0.1001"?
And was that the only recommendation?

In general you do want the latest drivers but Intel Rapid Storage Technology isn't a video driver and could easily be related to iaStorA.sys so in this case I do suggest you back out that driver. The best way to do that is type System Restore in Start > Search. Run System Restore and use the restore point just prior to the driver installation.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 4, 2010
Messages
60
Reaction score
0
Hello again,
I have an issue with Windows Defender. It wont start as it is shown in the picture below.


I have also used these programs to check for viruses offline in safe mode.
TDSSKiller and RKill

I went into Safe Mode and ran first TDSSKiller and this was the result.


Also the RKill tool reported me a log file.

Rkill 2.6.7 by Lawrence Abrams (Grinler)
http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/
Copyright 2008-2014 BleepingComputer.com
More Information about Rkill can be found at this link:
http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/forums/topic308364.html

Program started at: 07/13/2014 07:08:09 AM in x64 mode.
Windows Version: Windows 8.1 Single Language

Checking for Windows services to stop:

* No malware services found to stop.

Checking for processes to terminate:

* No malware processes found to kill.

Checking Registry for malware related settings:

* No issues found in the Registry.

Resetting .EXE, .COM, & .BAT associations in the Windows Registry.

Performing miscellaneous checks:

* Windows Defender Disabled

[HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows Defender]
"DisableAntiSpyware" = dword:00000001

Checking Windows Service Integrity:

* MsKeyboardFilter [Missing Service]
* CSC [Missing Service]
* E1G60 [Missing Service]
* HdAudAddService [Missing Service]
* kbldfltr [Missing Service]
* storvsp [Missing Service]
* Vid [Missing Service]
* vmbusr [Missing Service]
* vpcivsp [Missing Service]
* AppMgmt [Missing Service]
* PeerDistSvc [Missing Service]
* CscService [Missing Service]

Searching for Missing Digital Signatures:

* No issues found.

Checking HOSTS File:

* No issues found.

Program finished at: 07/13/2014 07:08:25 AM
Execution time: 0 hours(s), 0 minute(s), and 15 seconds(s)

I wonder what keeps Windows Defender from starting??
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Aug 4, 2010
Messages
60
Reaction score
0
The Malwarebytes tool removed all the threats.
But why Windows Defender still wont start??
Can McaFee that comes with the system be the cause?
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2010
Messages
60
Reaction score
0
Oh Pleeeease help me!!
I got another BSOD
Oh my god!!! I just downgraded the Intel Rapid Technology to V. 12.8.0.1016
I just wonder why when I install newer vesrions of the Intel Rapid Storage Technology, I get BSODs referring to iaStorA.sys
But when I install the older version 11 I get no BSOD..
Is it an issue with the newer drivers having some issues with Windows and the laptop model?
 

Attachments

TrainableMan

^ The World's First ^
Moderator
Joined
May 10, 2010
Messages
9,341
Reaction score
1,584
Just use the old version of Intel Rapid Technology for now.

And yes, if McAfee is still installed then Windows Defender probably won't run. Use the McAfee Removal Tool to get rid of it.
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2010
Messages
60
Reaction score
0
I am going to install a new windows.
I did system restore and the system is behaving strangely.
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2010
Messages
60
Reaction score
0
Do you recommend me those Registry fixer programs?
I downloaded a program called "Advanced System Care" and it states that it fixes any registry errors.
Should I use such tools or do they play with the registry and damage it?
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Aug 4, 2010
Messages
60
Reaction score
0
Hello.
I made "System Restore" to the date of 26th June 2014 and it is now running fine.
But Malewarebytes Anti-Malware is now buggy and makes system startup very very very slow taking sooo long to load the show the hidden icons which are beside the clock and date.

Remember, I ran Malwarebytes on the date 13th July 2014, just yesterday and it was running fine.
But after I did "System Restore" it uninstalled all the newly installed programs that were installed right after the date 26th June.

Does "System Restore" of a previos date affect installed programs in a date newer than the date of that "System Restore"
 

TrainableMan

^ The World's First ^
Moderator
Joined
May 10, 2010
Messages
9,341
Reaction score
1,584
I do not recommend any registry cleaner tools except CCleaner, and that is only because it is free and has never messed up my computer as many of them do.

And yes if you do a System Restore it can uninstall programs, if it does it gives you a list of what will be uninstalled and offers you a choice; did you see the list of programs that would be affected before you continued? Probably best to simply reinstall Malwarebytes. ... But I thought your plan was to do a fresh install?
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2010
Messages
60
Reaction score
0
I really don't know how to thank you bro.
Yes, soon I am going to install a fresh windows 8 NOT 8.1
The system came with Windows 8 installed, and I wish I haven't done Windows upgrade to 8.1 it caused problems.

Well, one last question if you don't mind?
Again what about the IObit software which is called "Advanced System Care Pro 7.3"
It does Registry Fixing and Deletes any Shortcuts errors.

Do you think this tool can mess up with the Registry.
And do you recommend me to use it after I install that new Windows 8?
 
Ad

Advertisements


Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top