How To Slipstream Windows 7 SP1 Into Installation DVD ISO

SOLVED Discussion in 'Installation, Setup and Updates' started by Nibiru2012, Nov 23, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Nibiru2012

    Nibiru2012 Quick Scotty, beam me up! Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    4,955
    Likes Received:
    1,306
    Location:
    Planet X
    Here's a handy tutorial for those who are interested. It explains how to "slipstream" the upcoming SP1 RTM release into the Windows 7 install DVD ISO image. That way when you do a new install or reinstall SP1 will be done automatically.

    You do have to download a couple of other pieces of software, but it works. Plus you can also "slipstream" the drivers you use to the ISO image created.

    Many tweaks too, so you can delete the items you never really use or are interested in.

    This is from the IntoWindows.com website. I'll just post the link so as to avoid any copyright issues.

    It uses RT Seven Lite application which you'll need to download and the latest WAIK - Windows Automated Installation Kit (AIK) for windows 7 ISO image. (This you burn to a DVD and then install it.)

    Download: RT Seven Lite X86 version (32-bit)

    Download: RT Seven Lite X64 version (64-bit)

    Download: WAIK - Windows Automated Installation Kit (AIK) for windows 7 This is a big download - 1706.6MB as an ISO image file to burn to a blank DVD.

    You also need .NET Framework 3.5, but most users have it already on their systems.

    Go here for the tutorial: http://www.intowindows.com/how-to-slipstream-windows-7-sp1-into-installation-dvd-iso/

    You can also install VMware Workstation 7.0 or Virtual PC (For testing your customized OS virtually)

    Let me know if y'all have any issues with it. This is a alternative method of installing Windows 7 along with SP1 integrated and other features all in one DVD.
     
    Nibiru2012, Nov 23, 2010
    #1
    Elmer BeFuddled and Bugsy like this.
    1. Advertisements

  2. Nibiru2012

    yodap No longer shovelling VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,430
    Likes Received:
    340
    Location:
    NY, USA
    Useful that! :)
     
    yodap, Nov 24, 2010
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Nibiru2012

    bluesjunior

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    Having just built my PC and installing my first Win7 OS I am still learning about it. When is the SP1 update due out?.
     
    bluesjunior, Dec 19, 2010
    #3
  4. Nibiru2012

    ans58670

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    WAIK is no need. What you need is Imagex inside WAIK to export "INSTALL.wim" to make it smaller after your slipstream.

    However there is Imagex's GUI called GImageX available for your easy use at

    http://www.autoitscript.com/gimagex/

    DO NOT FORGET that you can not undo slipstream or uninstall Service Pack from your OS because the slipstream will GET RID OF your original file. :)

    DO NOT FORGET to learn how to unmount image in RT_MOUNT using DISM in case of accident such as BSOD or power failure during your slipstream.
     
    ans58670, Jan 26, 2011
    #4
  5. Nibiru2012

    Nibiru2012 Quick Scotty, beam me up! Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    4,955
    Likes Received:
    1,306
    Location:
    Planet X

    The instructions in the OP are for the use of WAIK, so this other tool may confuse users.

    I DO NOT recommend using an alternative tool since there is no info for it.
     
    Nibiru2012, Jan 26, 2011
    #5
    catilley1092 likes this.
  6. Nibiru2012

    ans58670

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is RT 7 Lite WAIK?:confused:
     
    ans58670, Jan 27, 2011
    #6
  7. Nibiru2012

    Nibiru2012 Quick Scotty, beam me up! Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    4,955
    Likes Received:
    1,306
    Location:
    Planet X
    No, it is the tool to make the new ISO with. W.A.I.K. is Windows Automated Installation Kit.
     
    Nibiru2012, Jan 27, 2011
    #7
  8. Nibiru2012

    ans58670

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    After slipstream Service Pack 1 RTM to all 11 editions and additional language pack, I have got a 5.15GB of ISO image. Is this Windows 7 AIO too big?
     
    ans58670, Jan 28, 2011
    #8
  9. Nibiru2012

    Nibiru2012 Quick Scotty, beam me up! Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    4,955
    Likes Received:
    1,306
    Location:
    Planet X
    Well, I wouldn't slipstream to all 11 (actually 9) editions, it's a waste and you really need only only one DVD of either 32 bit or 64 bit.

    If you need a separate DVD for 32 and 64 bit, then use the following guide: https://www.w7forums.com/get-four-versions-windows-7-x64-one-dvd-t2911.html

    The 32-bit AIO disc is 5 editions: Starter, Basic, Premium Professional and Ultimate.

    The 64-bit AIO disc is 4 editions: Basic, Premium, Professional and Ultimate.

    So I don't see where you come up with 11 editions.

    DON'T USE some AIO ISO you downloaded from a torrent site that's been modified that only God knows what else has been put into it. Use the download links we have sticky in the Installation thread. ALL 32 bit ISO are the same size and so are the 64 bit. It's the "ei.cfg" file that signifies what version to install. Once that's removed you will be given the choice of either the 4 or 5 editions depending on the disc you configure.
     
    Nibiru2012, Jan 28, 2011
    #9
  10. Nibiru2012

    ans58670

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    The other 2 edition are Enterprise 32-bit and 64-bit. :)

    I firstly slipstream only Ultimate 32-bit using RT 7 Lite and hope it would make every 32-bit become SP1 (like the integration) but I was wrong. When I open other 32-bit edition (such as Professional 32-bit) in RT 7 Lite, it shown the Professional 32-bit was not a SP1 one. That was the reason why I have to slipstream all 11 editions.:(
     
    ans58670, Jan 28, 2011
    #10
  11. Nibiru2012

    Mortov Molotov

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Belgium, European Union
    Hi all,

    I have a question regarding a "clean" integration method for Win7 SP1 into my original RTM image.

    Through my college institution (www.ma3d.com), I obtained a legal image of Windows 7 Ultimate RTM. With service pack 1 only a couple of weeks away, I'd like to integrate it with my image, along with IE 9 (only when it's final version is released, not the RC).

    I would end up with something like:

    windows_7_sp1_ie9_x64_four_editions.iso

    At the moment, I see two options: using the reverse integration method (as with Vista), or with a tool called RT Se7en Lite (http://www.rt7lite.com). The latter seems obviously less complicated, but I'm not sure whether it's method is "clean" enough.

    I mean, I once used VLite (www.vlite.com) to integrate Vista with SP1; I ended up with an image +-/ 1 GB larger than the RTM-image. And when finally, a couple of months later, my college institution released a SP1 integrated image, it was about the same size of the original RTM.

    In short: will it be possible to integrate SP1 in such a way that I could not see any difference with an integrated image Microsoft will eventually release?
     
    Mortov Molotov, Feb 15, 2011
    #11
  12. Nibiru2012

    beamish

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    13
    Hello:
    Windows7 x64bit Home Premium (3GB).
    Windows7 SP1 (903MB).
    Slipstream using http://www.rt7lite.com/ (RTSe7enLite).
    Just what is listed above, no extra items slipstreamed.
    Finish product: 3.62GB.
    I believe the 32 bit will be smaller.
    Hope this is of some use.
     
    beamish, Feb 17, 2011
    #12
    Mortov Molotov likes this.
  13. Nibiru2012

    catilley1092 Win 7/Linux Mint Lover VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    3,507
    Likes Received:
    569
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Can that RT Se7en Lite tool be used for making all of the install discs into one disc? That is, one x86, one x64 disc, for all of the Win 7 OS's.

    I'd like to lighten my collection of install discs.

    Cat
     
    catilley1092, Feb 17, 2011
    #13
  14. Nibiru2012

    catilley1092 Win 7/Linux Mint Lover VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    3,507
    Likes Received:
    569
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Never mind, I see that you have to have that AIK package installed to use it. From it's looks, it's something for developers/power users.

    Cat
     
    catilley1092, Feb 17, 2011
    #14
  15. Nibiru2012

    davehc VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,958
    Likes Received:
    500
    Location:
    Denmark
    I was also overflowing with disks, Cat. But now, with an unusually clear mind, I have a plan, as Mcgiver would have said.
    I am dumping the lot. I am going to gram the 32/64 bit Home premiums and ultimats, and settle for that. Not a great deal of gain from having the others, with those four on the shelves.
     
    davehc, Feb 17, 2011
    #15
  16. Nibiru2012

    Nibiru2012 Quick Scotty, beam me up! Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    4,955
    Likes Received:
    1,306
    Location:
    Planet X
    One should be able to slipstream the SP1 with no trouble at all. I did it and have not noticed any "uncleanliness"... almost sounds Biblical doesn't it?


    In short: will it be possible to integrate SP1 in such a way that I could not see any difference with an integrated image Microsoft will eventually release?
     
    Nibiru2012, Feb 17, 2011
    #16
    Mortov Molotov likes this.
  17. Nibiru2012

    Mortov Molotov

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Belgium, European Union
    LOL :)

    and did you also use RT7Lite (like Beamish), or reverse engineering, or via DISM?
     
    Mortov Molotov, Feb 17, 2011
    #17
  18. Nibiru2012

    Mortov Molotov

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Belgium, European Union
    (1) did you slipstream only the home premium image, or all images (professional, ultimate, etc...)
    (2) will try this myself, but I'll ask it anyway: did RT7lite "clean up" afterwards, or can you still uninstall SP1 afterwards?
     
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2011
    Mortov Molotov, Feb 17, 2011
    #18
  19. Nibiru2012

    Nibiru2012 Quick Scotty, beam me up! Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    4,955
    Likes Received:
    1,306
    Location:
    Planet X
    RT 7 Lite does clean up afterwards so no problem there.

    SP1 is not unistalled, it is just sitting in a folder somewhere and used by RT 7 Lite for the slipstream. It does not need to be installed on the system doing the slipstream.
     
    Nibiru2012, Feb 17, 2011
    #19
    clifford_cooley likes this.
  20. Nibiru2012

    ans58670

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    There will some folder of SP1 in Windows\winsxs (approx 4,000 folders with 20,000 files). Search for files and folders with SP1 code (6.1.7601.17514) and look up to the file or folder above. That's clue.
     
    ans58670, Feb 18, 2011
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
  1. Ken1943

    Winsows 7 sp1 slipstream

    Ken1943, Jul 20, 2011, in forum: alt.windows7.general
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    1,092
    Ken Blake
    Jul 25, 2011
  2. Ken1943

    Slipstream sp1

    Ken1943, Mar 22, 2012, in forum: alt.windows7.general
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    967
    Ken1943
    Mar 22, 2012
  3. amaltom61

    Slipstream SP1 to a windows 7 32bit universal iso

    amaltom61, Jun 22, 2012, in forum: Installation, Setup and Updates
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    3,068
    clifford_cooley
    Jun 22, 2012
  4. Senator
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    1,132
    Shintaro
    Jul 16, 2014
  5. Wayback
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,725
    TrainableMan
    Sep 2, 2016
  6. Pontiac1933

    Windows 7 Pro on Windows 7 Home Computer

    Pontiac1933, Nov 16, 2016, in forum: Software
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,202
    TrainableMan
    Nov 17, 2016
  7. John Jarvis

    Official Windows 7 SP1 ISO Image Downloads don't work

    John Jarvis, Nov 22, 2016, in forum: Windows 7 Support
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    2,340
    TrainableMan
    Nov 24, 2016
  8. federico

    Cannot get into Windows 7 – black screen

    federico, Jan 13, 2017, in forum: General Discussion
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    334
    James Amand
    Jan 16, 2017
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.