folders


Joined
Sep 27, 2010
Messages
286
Reaction score
2
I have an Explorer window open. I try to add a new folder w/ the rclick but there's no option for it. I try to click the button "New Folder" in the top menu and nothing happens. How do I create a frickin' folder?
 
Ad

Advertisements

Core

all ball, no chain
Moderator
Joined
Feb 13, 2009
Messages
1,175
Reaction score
272
Where are you trying to create it? Are you sure you have appropriate privileges?
 
Joined
Sep 27, 2010
Messages
286
Reaction score
2
In the Windows Explorer where the rest of the folders are. I'm the admin and only user of this computer.
 
Joined
Sep 27, 2010
Messages
286
Reaction score
2
Lord o lord, no one can help me w/ this? I'm churning out products like crazy and I have no place to put them!
 

TrainableMan

^ The World's First ^
Moderator
Joined
May 10, 2010
Messages
9,341
Reaction score
1,584
What "folder" are you trying to create a folder under?

In the left panel under libraries, select a folder at "My Documents" level or deeper. Then in the right panel right-click and try your New>Folder. (If you could post a screenshot at this point for us to see that would be great)
 

Core

all ball, no chain
Moderator
Joined
Feb 13, 2009
Messages
1,175
Reaction score
272
Yeah, you can't create one directly into Libraries (as it's not technically a folder to begin with), so I am just wondering where you are trying to create it.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Sep 27, 2010
Messages
286
Reaction score
2
Got to be an easier way. I can't seem to create a folder anywhere. My rclick "New" brings up a lot of options, including a compressed folder. I just created a copy of one of my existing folders, deleted everything in it, moved files into it and renamed it.
 

Core

all ball, no chain
Moderator
Joined
Feb 13, 2009
Messages
1,175
Reaction score
272
Hmmmnn I still think it's a permissions issue.
 
Joined
Sep 27, 2010
Messages
286
Reaction score
2
OK, back at it and these damned "bibles" aren't doing me any good. Guess I should start with Permissions. Where do I change and what do I change?

And anytime I click "New" it gives lots of choices but no "folder" option.

I'll try and get more info in my cp but I still don't know what I'm doing.
 

yodap

No longer shovelling
VIP Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2009
Messages
1,430
Reaction score
340
Hi Magoo,
If you're not seeing the folder option under the "New" sub-menu then somthing must be broken. This option has always been in every windows version that I've used. Linux also.

Try System File Checker, sfc /scannow.
Click start and type cmd. Under programs, cmd.exe should be there. Right click and choose "Run as administrator" Then type: sfc /scannow
Notice the space between the c and /. Hit enter.
Let it do its thing and get back to us.
 
Joined
Sep 27, 2010
Messages
286
Reaction score
2
Windows Resource Protection didn't find any integrity violations
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Sep 8, 2013
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
I am following this thread with interest, I can't make a new folder anywhere, even on a SDHC Card
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Sep 8, 2013
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Magoo, In my case, I can create briefcase folders and zipped folders but not ordinary folders. (I can only do that on my computer drive but not remote drives), I have been making briefcase folders and using them as ordinary folders until i figure out what is wrong. Can you do that? I can also save files, I just can't create folders.
This whole thing is frustrating.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top