Complete newbie with question

Reaction score
Hello everyone. I am new to the forum, which I sought out because I am fed up with Vista Home Edition. Time and again, it freezes (hangs up, locks me out) when the PC has been left in Sleep or Hibernate mode. So, I was wondering about replacing it with Windows 7.
However, I see from the discussion that freezing is not uncommon in W7. Also, if I were to install W7, do I have to reload all my programs (Photoshop, Illustrator, Capture One etc) and files?
Sorry to ask such mundane questions; I am sure they have been asked millions of times before. However, I would appreciate any comments.

Les

yodap

No longer shovelling
Reaction score
Hi and welcome to the forum.

It is true that some people are experiencing freezes on Win7 but I think you should do it. You should do a clean install and reinstall your programs if you can. The worse that can happen is you'll still have the same problem but more than likely you won't.

I tried upgrading from Vista and did not like the end result. Duplicate folders and the like, that couldn't be removed. The clean install took more time but the end result was a clean system and no problems.

Just my HO. Good luck with your decision and there is plenty of help around here.

Nibiru2012

Quick Scotty, beam me up!
Reaction score
Hello everyone. I am new to the forum, which I sought out because I am fed up with Vista Home Edition. Time and again, it freezes (hangs up, locks me out) when the PC has been left in Sleep or Hibernate mode. So, I was wondering about replacing it with Windows 7.
However, I see from the discussion that freezing is not uncommon in W7. Also, if I were to install W7, do I have to reload all my programs (Photoshop, Illustrator, Capture One etc) and files?
Sorry to ask such mundane questions; I am sure they have been asked millions of times before. However, I would appreciate any comments.

Les