can't find MS "Works" after installing MS Office Pro 2010


Joined
Jul 24, 2010
Messages
21
Reaction score
1
I am using a Toshiba laptop that I purchased brand new approx a month ago. It came with Windows 7.

I recently installed Microsoft Office Pro 2010 and I just noticed that I can't find MS Works. When you install Office Pro 2010 does it delete Works? I am sure my computer had this software at one time.

Is it possible that the Works version was a demo that came with my computer and it was replaced when I installed 2010?

I see under all programs: All Programs> Microsoft Office> Re-install MS Office Pro 2007 Trial -- If I reinstall MS Office Pro 2007 Trial will "Works" come back?

I see in my recycle bin the following: mssefullinstall-amd64fre-en-us-vista=Windows 7
Is this where my MS Works went?

Thanks in advance for any help,
yeto
 
Ad

Advertisements

yodap

No longer shovelling
VIP Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2009
Messages
1,430
Reaction score
340
Was Office 2010 a trial?

There should be a system restore point created just prior to the office 2010 installation. Try to restore to that point.
 
Joined
Jul 24, 2010
Messages
21
Reaction score
1
I understand what you are saying but if I restore I lose Office Pro 2010 (I have a legit version so it would not be a problem to reinstall) but when I reinstall Pro 2010 I will lose "Works".
 

yodap

No longer shovelling
VIP Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2009
Messages
1,430
Reaction score
340
I understand what you are saying but if I restore I lose Office Pro 2010 (I have a legit version so it would not be a problem to reinstall) but when I reinstall Pro 2010 I will lose "Works".
I don't know.

If you go to programs and features in the control panel, is works listed (as being installed)?
 

Nibiru2012

Quick Scotty, beam me up!
VIP Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2009
Messages
4,955
Reaction score
1,302
I recently installed Microsoft Office Pro 2010 and I just noticed that I can't find MS Works. When you install Office Pro 2010 does it delete Works? I am sure my computer had this software at one time.
Yes, when you installed MS Office Pro 2010 it eliminated MS Works.

I see in my recycle bin the following: mssefullinstall-amd64fre-en-us-vista=Windows 7
That is Microsoft Security Essentials installer program

Don't worry about MS Works being removed, it's a very basic piece of software and Microsoft will no longer support it anymore. Your Office Pro 2010 is a MUCH better set of applications.

This is from Wikipedia:

Microsoft Works was an office suite ("home productivity software suite") produced by Microsoft. Smaller, less expensive, and with fewer features than the Microsoft Office suite, its core functionality includes a word processor, a spreadsheet and a database. Newer versions have a calendar application and a dictionary while older releases included a terminal emulator. A 'Works Portfolio' utility offers Microsoft Binder-like functionality.

It was announced in October 2009 that the product will no longer be sold from 2010, and that it will be replaced by an extensively cut-down version of Microsoft Office called Office Starter 2010[1]. Office Starter 2010 only runs on Windows Vista SP1 and above and is only be available to OEMs for preloading on new computers. [2] It lacks a replacement for the Works database although it can open Microsoft Works files.
Stick with Office Pro 2010 you'll be much happier! :)
 

yodap

No longer shovelling
VIP Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2009
Messages
1,430
Reaction score
340
I knew some smart mofo would come along and resolve this. :top: I know nothing of either program except I had Works 98 or whatever it was known as back then
 
Ad

Advertisements

catilley1092

Win 7/Linux Mint Lover
VIP Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2009
Messages
3,507
Reaction score
563
I'm glad that I didn't install Office 2010 onto my OEM partition (7 Pro), as before I started using (or should I say dabbling) with Office 2010 Pro Plus, MS Works was all that I had. While it's not a premier Office package, it's certainly better than Open Office.

yeto, welcome to the forum! Anytime you need help, always feel free to come back anytime.

Cat
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top