XP Mode in Windows 7 without Hardware Virtualization


Joined
Dec 17, 2009
Messages
5
Reaction score
7
VMLite (a virtualization technology based on VirtualBox ) can run XP Mode in Windows even if your processor is not capable of Hardware Virtualization.

Its a tweaked version of VirtualBox and can run XP Mode even in Windows Vista.
The XP Mode in VMlite does not require activation.(You have to download XP Mode from Microsoft and install it with VMLite)

You can download VMlite here http://www.vmlite.com/index.php/products/vmlite-xp-mode
Download XP Mode from Microsoft here http://download.microsoft.com/download/7/2...PMode_en-us.exe
Download How To Guide here http://www.vmlite.com/index.php/products/v...ode/howto-guide
Source: http://agnipulse.com/2009/12/xp-mode-in-wi...virtualization/
 
Ad

Advertisements

clifford_cooley

VIP Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
5,063
Reaction score
1,184
Hi agni

Thats pretty sweet not requiring Hardware that supports Virtualization.

From what I have read, this will allow you to run XP Mode on Windows 7 Home Premium.
 

catilley1092

Win 7/Linux Mint Lover
VIP Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2009
Messages
3,507
Reaction score
563
agni, welcome to the forums! We always have room for a new member. That program that you were referring to looks good. I have Home Premium and therefore can't run Microsoft's Virtual PC. I don't understand why, except Microsoft wants a little more money from us to get it. I know that Sun has some kind of a virtual PC, but these kind of things I'm not familiar with. I've always been a dual booter. I know that XP Mode has it's advantages for a lot of people, But I don't think I stand to gain from it. The only thing that I can't do on my 64 bit PC is print, and I can't see where it will make my printer work. It's connected to a 32 bit Win 2K / XP Pro laptop. But that is a great post and I'm sure there are those here who will benefit from it. Hope that you're enjoying Windows 7 and that you'll be back soon. Merry Christmas to you!
 

catilley1092

Win 7/Linux Mint Lover
VIP Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2009
Messages
3,507
Reaction score
563
I'm starting the download of this product to try XP Mode on Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit. I'd like to see if my printer will work, it did on XP Pro. I hope it works out, if it does, there's someone else here who may benefit from it as well.
 
Joined
Nov 19, 2009
Messages
9
Reaction score
2
Question for Angi
I have Windows 7 home premium which was upgraded from Windows Vista home
premium. I have not been able to download MS "Photo Story 3", since is it not
supported in Windows 7. It is supported in Windows XP. Could I download this
program with your suggestion--using VMLite running XP Mode?? Would appreciate
your thoughts--do you think it would work? Thanks.
Don Morgan
 

catilley1092

Win 7/Linux Mint Lover
VIP Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2009
Messages
3,507
Reaction score
563
Yes, I just downloaded it myself to see if it would install, it went through validation and installed. The program is "Photo Story 3 for Windows". This VMLite is a little tricky to use, I finally have it updated. The default browser is IE6. But I'm going to try and change that.
 

catilley1092

Win 7/Linux Mint Lover
VIP Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2009
Messages
3,507
Reaction score
563
This VMLite thing works good, although it's a little tricky at first. Do I need to install an antivirus on here? I'm wondering, because that red X symbol is showing in the Windows Security Center icon. I clicked it, it said that I have no antivirus installed.
 
Joined
Nov 19, 2009
Messages
9
Reaction score
2
catilley 1092
Thanks for downloading "Photo Story 3" to show that it works. That is my favorite
program for making home movies. I am very happy with Windows 7--it just need
a download for "Photo Story 3". Now that a work around is possible, I can start living
again.

I will download VMLite and XP mode as suggested by agni, and see if I can get things
working.

You mentioned a possible issue with anti-virus program? My computer is on a home
network and the cable goes thru a router firewall--windows 7 firewall--and I use Avast
as my anti-virus program. We will see how this set-up likes VMLite & XPMode.

Thanks again, and Happy New Year.
 

catilley1092

Win 7/Linux Mint Lover
VIP Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2009
Messages
3,507
Reaction score
563
Well, once the XP mode is fully setup and updated, it acts like any other Windows OS install, it warns you to get virus protection. I selected MSE, as I like the sound performance of it. WMLite is a great program for those needing an XP enviroment to work with. Although I don't need it at all (I have a Win 2K Pro/XP Pro SP3 laptop), I was curious enough to see if it's for real, and it is. You can choose your own browser and apps just as any other computer. It's much better than dual booting. But while it may solve some users issues, there will be others left unresolved by this upgrade, in particular, printing.
 
Last edited:
Ad

Advertisements

catilley1092

Win 7/Linux Mint Lover
VIP Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2009
Messages
3,507
Reaction score
563
This VM install is perfect for those who needs to run older software and doesn't have an XP program of their own. Everything you need is there, you just need to follow the instructions in the first post of this thread. You do need to install an anti-virus program (MSE will be fine), and a stand alone scanner such as Malwarebytes. You first download the two programs, VM Lite & XP Mode. Install VM Mode first, then install the XP Mode image. You don't have to burn the disc if you don't want to, just direct the program to the XP Mode file. It will install itself. One other thing, registration is required to obtain VM Lite, but not XP Mode. There are even instructions to download if you need them. One important thing to note: You need at least 3GB RAM for 64 bit, and 2GB RAM for 32 bit. The reason? You will need to "lend" some of your RAM (512MB for 64 bit, 256MB for 32 bit), and have enough to run your Windows 7 install, or your "host" OS. The one in the VM is a "guest" OS. You can uninstall these just as any other program, should you no longer want or need them. First, you open the VM and a simple click deletes the OS, and all of it's programs and updates. Then uninstall the VM as you would any other program. This program, I've tested it for a couple of days, and runs fine. You should have no problem running the apps that won't run on 7. There has been many posts on this forum regarding running older programs, and I've been hard at work seeking solutions for as many members as I can. This solution, and another one that I posted earlier,"Solution to deploying older programs", are the best two options on the table. It is my hope that someone can use these, as options for older programs are few.
 
Joined
Nov 19, 2009
Messages
9
Reaction score
2
Appreciate your efforts in helping those of us with Windows 7 Home Premium. My
favorite program that won't run on Win 7 is "Photo Story 3". After a recent security
update on compatibality isssues--I reported Photo Story3 would now download on
Win 7 even tho the download was for XP. It does download--launches--but hangs up
on one or more phases of the program rendering it useless. The hang up can only be cleared with a forced shut down losing all data & pictures. Bummer.

I think your approach with VMLite & XP Mode may be the solution for older application
that ran on XP. Thanks
 

catilley1092

Win 7/Linux Mint Lover
VIP Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2009
Messages
3,507
Reaction score
563
That was my hope, that someone would be able to use this program. Virtual Machines are not new by any means, just as 64 bit isn't. That's exactly what Microsoft pushes off on their corporate customers, to get used to and adapt to Windows 7. That's exactly who XP Mode was created for, was it's business customers. The average user either doesn't have 7 Pro or Ultimate, and some that do have it doesn't have the hardware to run it. That's were open source VM software comes in, giving us the same options that corporate users have. In fact, their options are getting ready to expand soon, with a couple of new programs. But we, the end users, are left out of that picture, leaving us to fend for ourselves. Fortunately, we do have a few choices. Don, I hope that this works for you, as it has for me. Should you need further help, please don't hesitate to post back, and regardless of the outcome, let us know how it's working for you. This may help to encourage others, as I'm trying to get the word out that you don't have to downgrade to 32 bit, in order to run a program or two.
 
Joined
Sep 19, 2010
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
VMLite (a virtualization technology based on VirtualBox ) can run XP Mode in Windows even if your processor is not capable of Hardware Virtualization.

Its a tweaked version of VirtualBox and can run XP Mode even in Windows Vista.
The XP Mode in VMlite does not require activation.(You have to download XP Mode from Microsoft and install it with VMLite)

You can download VMlite here http://www.vmlite.com/index.php/products/vmlite-xp-mode
Download XP Mode from Microsoft here http://download.microsoft.com/download/7/2...PMode_en-us.exe
Download How To Guide here http://www.vmlite.com/index.php/products/v...ode/howto-guide
Source: http://agnipulse.com/2009/12/xp-mode-in-wi...virtualization/
This is an excellent solution but make sure you download XP Mode first before VMLite, otherwise I couldn't get it to start
 

TrainableMan

^ The World's First ^
Moderator
Joined
May 10, 2010
Messages
9,319
Reaction score
1,584
Microsoft's Virtual PC - XP mode no longer requires hardware virtualization so if you have professional, ultimate, or enterprise you may want to give it a try. It has the advantage that you don't need XP disks/CD nor own an XP license to be legal.
 

catilley1092

Win 7/Linux Mint Lover
VIP Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2009
Messages
3,507
Reaction score
563
This is an excellent solution but make sure you download XP Mode first before VMLite, otherwise I couldn't get it to start
johnfriend, welcome to the forum! The VM program that you've quoted was my first attempt at using any VM software. If you don't have Windows 7 Pro (or Ultimate), and a Retail version of XP, this is a good way to go. It's not as good as VirtualBox, or Windows Virtual PC with XP Mode, but it'll serve you, if you need it. It enabled me to begin to learn, when I had no other option.

Hopefully, you'll find this forum to be a good place to learn, as I have. There's plenty of tutorials on the site, and a Free Software Database to get many essential apps at no cost to you. As well as lots of friendly, professional help.

I hope that the VM software that you found here is useful to you. Should you need assistance, always feel free to post, were open 24/7.

Best of Luck,
Cat
 
Joined
Sep 19, 2010
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Windows 7 and Canon 8000F

It worked! I have now set up a XP VM using VMLite, loaded my Canon driver and it now works. So I have my scanner back up and running in XP within Windows 7.

Thanks very much for your help Problem solved
 
Ad

Advertisements

catilley1092

Win 7/Linux Mint Lover
VIP Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2009
Messages
3,507
Reaction score
563
That's great to hear, johnfriend! I'm reinstalling XP Mode myself. You never know when you may need it.

Also, glad to hear that you have your Canon product up & running. At one time, there were so many threads on Canon printers & scanners, it was unreal. A VM is the only option to run many of these products.

If you need further assistance, always feel free to come back. There's plenty of good people here to assist you.

Cat
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top