windows 7 x64 RAM usage problem

Reaction score
pls help a noob here. I am new to windows 7 and 64 bit OS machine. i've been doing my work (graphics artist) on a windows xp 32 bit for almost 5 years now and for some generous research reading forums on the net, i'm convinced that 64 bit OS is better for my line of work. after earning enough "pesos" i was able to buy a new machine with the following specs:

GA-G31M-ES2L Gigabyte motherboard (capable of up to 4gig RAM) (x64 compatible)
intel core 2 quad 6600 2.4 gigahertz processor (x64 compatible)
NVIDIA 9500 GT ddr2 1Gig graphics card
1 terabyte WD SATA hard drive
4 gigabyte kingston ddr2 pc800 RAM (2 gig in each module)

aside from that i bought a genuine windows 7 ultimate 64 bit OS (hoping that my "rendering time" will be reduce by at least 10 to 15 percent) and i downloaded a trial version on Adobe CS5 from the internet. (knowing that guys from adobe intentionally created CS5 to work better on a windows 7 64 bit system.)

here's the problem:

after installing a fresh copy of windows 7 with all its proper 64bit drivers, i immediately rated its "windows experience index" and got a base score of 4.6 and my MEMORY OPERATION PER SECOND scored a 7.1 rate. the properties window also showed that my installed RAM is 4.00 Gig with 4 gig usable RAM.
but after installing adobe CS5 and 3D studio Max 2011 x64, the windows experience index suddenly needed to be refreshed. and when i clicked on refresh, the MEMORY OPERATION PER SECOND rate drastically dropped to 5.1 and the properties window showed that i only have 3.25 gig RAM usable. WHAT THE HECK IS THIS??? this is like using a 32 bit OS AFTER ALL! Did i just waste good amount of cash with a machine much like my old 32 bit XP sp2???? pls enlighten me with this... im such a noob when it comes to windows 7...

Reaction score
It probably did the Winsat when something using resources was also running.