Vertex 2 not detected in Win7 setup, but visible inside Win7 installed on another HD


Joined
Jul 19, 2011
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Hello,

I want to do a clean Win7Ult 64bit install on my new system, but during the part where you choose your disk Win7 CANNOT see my Vertex 2 120gig disk. The Vertex 2 disk is visible during POST, and I already updated my BIOS to the latest version. The SATA controller in BIOS is also set to AHCI. It can only see my other disk (WD velicoraptor 300gig) that I use for backup.

To see if my vertex 2 is DOA, I then installed Win7 on my WD velicoraptor 300gig instead, which it detects. Once in Win7, I can perfectly see my vertex 2 SSD in disk manager and my computer and device manager!I then NTFS formatted it and rebooted and attempt to reinstall Win7 on it again but to no avail. I also tried to install Win7 onto the Vertex 2 while in Win7 but it still won't see the vertex 2 during setup!!!! Somehow I just can't have it detected in Win7 setup!!!

Please help, I want to do a clean Win7 install on my vertex 2. Thanks.


System:

Gigabyte P67A UD4 B3 Intel Sandy Bridge Rev. 09
Intel Core i5 2500K
G.SKILL F3-12800CL9-4GBXL XMP
ATI Radeon HD 5850
Enermax Galaxy Evo EGX1250EWT
OCZ Vertex 2 120gig
WD3000HLFS
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
 
Ad

Advertisements

Nibiru2012

Quick Scotty, beam me up!
VIP Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2009
Messages
4,955
Reaction score
1,302
Disconnect all other HDD connected to the motherboard except for the Vertex 2 and the DVD drive. Ensure that the Vertex 2 shows up in BIOS on a bootup of the computer.

Make sure the DVD drive is set as the 1st Boot Device on the BIOS. The Vertex 2 should show up now.
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2011
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Disconnect all other HDD connected to the motherboard except for the Vertex 2 and the DVD drive. Ensure that the Vertex 2 shows up in BIOS on a bootup of the computer.

Make sure the DVD drive is set as the 1st Boot Device on the BIOS. The Vertex 2 should show up now.
Thanks for your reply. I always set my DVD drive to 1st boot device, that's how I always have it in order to install Win7 from my CD. I did try to only plug my Vertex 2 and DVD drive and nothing will show in Win7 when prompted which drive to install to =(
 
Ad

Advertisements

Nibiru2012

Quick Scotty, beam me up!
VIP Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2009
Messages
4,955
Reaction score
1,302
You may need an "alternate BIOS", which can be found by searching the OCZ Forums section at the OCZ website. That's what I had to do until I installed the latest firmware update for my Vertex 2.

Have tried installing the latest firmware from OCZ for your drive? For Vertex 2 it's version 1.33, but remember that the OCZ toolbox for updating WILL NOT work with Intel RST driver v10.xxx, you have to have v9.xxx installed. Once I did the Vertex 2 firmware update to v1.33 the regular BIOS firmware version worked.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top