Server Upgrade/Move


Ian

Administrator
Joined
Oct 17, 2008
Messages
3,468
Reaction score
631
Hi Folks,

I've got to move w7forums.com to a new server a little later on today, which may mean that the site is down for about 10 mins during the transfer period.

I'm going to move the site at 2PM GMT (that's just under 2 hours from this post). It shouldn't take long and no data will be lost :).

The new server has a better CPU and faster RAM (but the other components are the same), it also has a much lower load so should improve the site speed at busy times. :)
 

clifford_cooley

VIP Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
5,059
Reaction score
1,184
The new server has a better CPU and faster RAM (but the other components are the same), it also has a much lower load so should improve the site speed at busy times. :)
When exactly are the busy times? I've not really noticed any! :)
 
Ad

Advertisements

Ian

Administrator
Joined
Oct 17, 2008
Messages
3,468
Reaction score
631
More so when the server is busy, rather then just the forums. The move isn't mainly aimed at improving the speed, but it could be a side effect of the more powerful server :).
 

Ian

Administrator
Joined
Oct 17, 2008
Messages
3,468
Reaction score
631
I'm starting the move now, so the site may appear offline for a very short time.
 

yodap

No longer shovelling
VIP Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2009
Messages
1,430
Reaction score
340
When exactly are the busy times? I've not really noticed any! :)
Funny! :lol::lol:
 

Nibiru2012

Quick Scotty, beam me up!
VIP Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2009
Messages
4,955
Reaction score
1,302
Yessirree Bob! A bunch of comedians lurking around here for sure... :rolleyes:
 
Ad

Advertisements

clifford_cooley

VIP Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
5,059
Reaction score
1,184
"Mark Forums Read" resulted in the following error.

Your submission could not be processed because a security token was invalid.

If this occurred unexpectedly, please inform the administrator and describe the action you performed before you received this error.
 

Ian

Administrator
Joined
Oct 17, 2008
Messages
3,468
Reaction score
631
Dave emailed me about the same error, and I think it's a temporary problem relating to the server move, as until the DNS change is picked up, most users will still be seeing the old server for the web serving (but the new server for the database). Once the DNS resolution is complete (should be this afternoon at the latest), then that should fix it. :)
 

Fire cat

Established Member
VIP Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2010
Messages
1,157
Reaction score
191
Ian, you should really move off to a linux machine. Might sound a little ironic, seeing as this is a windows forum, but Windows Server is a frikkin huge power hog. Linux is much stabler, lighter (more efficient) and of course, free.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Ian

Administrator
Joined
Oct 17, 2008
Messages
3,468
Reaction score
631
I,m back in, Ian. Thanks

Glad that did the trick :)

Ian, you should really move off to a linux machine. Might sound a little ironic, seeing as this is a windows forum, but Windows Server is a frikkin huge power hog. Linux is much stabler, lighter (more efficient) and of course, free.
I do think Linux machines do make great webhosts - but I really like IIS and this is a Windows site after all ;). I find Windows/IIS a much easier combo to manage from an admin perspective, plus it helps with familiarity and answering questions on here :).
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top