programs in program files x86 not in start menu

Reaction score
Last week I bought a new computer and it was working great - windows 7 pro.

a few days ago I installed a few apps - netbeans and mozilla firefox. They were both working fine until this morning. I can't find the icons for these programson my desktop or my start menue.

I did a restore but that didnt help. I finally found these programs in my program files (x86) folder. It seems like I somehow set windows to not look in the Programs files (x86) folder when showing program contents.

What did I break and how do i get these programs back? I would prefer to launch them from the desktop/start menue rather than navigating through the programs x86 folder.

Please be kind. I am new to w7.

Reaction score
Did you try reinstalling the apps?
I did try to reinstall netbeans but i ran into a glitch.
I thought i might have problems if i tried to reinstall without deinstalling first, so i first went to the contol panel to remove netbeans. it wasnt listed, so i just tried to reinstall it, but the installer told me that netbeans was already installed, and wouldn't let me go further.

I havent tried mozilla ffox yet (getting that to work is lower priority).

Any othher suggestions? I would have thought there is just a setting someplace about what directories to include in the start menue.

Fire cat

Established Member
Reaction score
Hum... If they aren't in the CP either, you have a registry problem.
But if the system restore didn't work either, I can only think of a reinstall. Sorry.

Though, I'm not 100% sure, so best to wait for any other suggestion...

Reaction score
This is not a real answer to your problem and I apologize but I had a similar thing happen to me with a program I had installed in XP operating system.
Almost same symptoms as you described, program did not show up in the program lists nor in the add/remove section of control panel.