Ownership of files and folders

Reaction score
I have been running Win7 32 bit for several months and dual boot it. I decided to install the 64 bit version on one of my drives to see how it worked and how it would affect the programs I use.

I keep all data files and directories on drives which are separate from OS drives. I have done this for years and it has proved to be a safe way to handle them.

When I installed the 64 bit version, things went well and programs like Photoshop already have 64 bit installs so those programs seem just fine. HOWEVER ... today I went into a data drive to access some video files I am working on ... and got a popup saying that I didn't have permission to access them. When I clicked on the provided link to get permission...I got another popup denying access for that.

So here's the deal. I built the computer. I installed the OS. I installed all the programs. I created all the data. I am the ONLY user on this computer. So how is it that Windows can tell me that I can't access my own files?

I fiddled with the security functions a bit ... following an illustrated tutorial I found in these forums ... and now I have a couple of folders with padlock symbols on them and I haven't figured out how to remove the padlocks.

Is there some master security setting which will cover the entire computer which will let me access my own stuff WITHOUT HAVING TO DO EACH FILE OR FOLDER ONE AT A TIME

??????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

Elmer BeFuddled

Resident eejit
Reaction score
Welcome OldBaldGuy.

I recently had a similar issue after a(nother) fresh install.

I was unable to edit any file contained in the "My Pics" folder. Strangely all the other "My" folders kept on the same separate HDD were A.O.K.

The permissions you had previously were for a different Administrator account or something like that (you know, the s-1-5-21 etc. etc. number that changes (???) in HOT_KEY_USERS).