Networking: Win7 keeps asking for password when there isn't one!

Reaction score
Hi have 2 Windows 7 Premium computers - one is 64-bit and the other is 32-bit.

Last night, I was transferring files over the network for hours with no problems at all, from the 32 to the 64 bit. No passwords were involved because there were no password set up (and there are none - I checked).

Today, however, the 64-bit computer wants a password for the 32-bit machine... yet there is none!

Any reason for this? Thanks in advance, folks!

TrainableMan

^ The World's First ^
Reaction score
I'm not an expert on networking but I do notice in this ARTICLE it says in Clifford's addendum that you can turn off password protection, maybe that will fix your issue?

Kougar

OCing one chip at a time
Reaction score
Have you tried leaving the field blank and just hitting enter? XP used to require that sometimes...

Reaction score
hey try setting a password for each pc ( make it easy,so u dont forget), then got to your network sharing panel and adjust your sharing option . i think you need a password in order for it to work.Also windows 7 has a default password for homegroup, should be in the same panel.

Last edited:

davehc

Microsoft MVP
Reaction score
Rob's idea might work.
But, on the 32Bit machine, type, in the Start or run box
Control Userpasswords2
Untick the square "Users must enter ..etc"
Apply

Reaction score
Excellent answer...

but that box was already un-checked. And as I said before, the problem began out of nowhere - no changes had been made. But THANK YOU MUCH!!

davehc

Microsoft MVP
Reaction score
OK. Then do this
Open the Control panel (Icon view)
Choose Properties (this opens Control Panel\Network and Internet\Network and Sharing Center)
Open Network and Sharing Center
Click "Change advanced sharing settings" (Over on the left) , and select and expand your home group6.
Look at next to last setting - Password protected sharing
Turn off password protected sharing - Save chnges.