SOLVED Looking for good free firewall for Windows 7 x64

Reaction score
I uninstalled Norton Internet Security 2011 yesterda I replaced it with MSE. Does anyone on the forum know of a good free firewall for Windows 7 x64?
All recommendations are greatly appreciated.

davehc

Microsoft MVP
Reaction score
I am not an expert on firewalls, but what do you not like about the Windows 7 Firewall?
Alrenatively, if you use a router, it will also have a firewall, normally enabled by default

Reaction score
No router

I don't have a router. Windows Vista's and 7's firewalls are to hard to configure for what you get. XP's is a worthless one-way firewall. Vista and 7's are 2-way, but they aren't that way out the box and it's too complicated for most users to configure. I can give you an example on that also. When I was using Windows Vista Ultimate on my other pc, I subscribed to The Official: Windows Vista Magazine. They had a article on how to configure the Firewall through Administratve Firewall Settings. I followed ther guide on configuring it and I couldn't even use the internet after following the guide. That was one gripe every computer magazine had about Vista and 7's firewall. It should be 2 way out the box and you either approve or disapprove your software's internet access one time. You also make the firewall like other firewalls, as far as configuring it.
I am not an expert on firewalls, but what do you not like about the Windows 7 Firewall?
Alrenatively, if you use a router, it will also have a firewall, normally enabled by default

Reaction score
Downloaded it & install in a few minutes

Downloaded Zone Alarm free and install in a few minutes. Once again thanks TorrentG. P.S. No more BSOD since ditch NIS 2011 and re-updating Microsoft Optical Desktops mouse. Funny that it's keyboard driver and my ATI video drivers survived the repair install and the mouse driver didn't..