install windows7 64 bits using license of 32 bits?


Joined
Jan 27, 2010
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
I bought Windows7 - 32 bits. Can I install 64 bits using the same license number I had for 32 bits?
Thanks for anyone helping me.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Nibiru2012

Quick Scotty, beam me up!
VIP Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2009
Messages
4,955
Reaction score
1,302
I bought Windows7 - 32 bits. Can I install 64 bits using the same license number I had for 32 bits?
Thanks for anyone helping me.
If you bought the retail version or upgrade version then you should have two discs in the package. One for x86 and the other for x64.

One product key works for either version, it's just one install per key though.
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2010
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Thanks to Core and Nibiru.

My license is OEM for 32 bits only.I desire to install in 64 bits but I don't want to purchase new license and just use the existing license number for 32 bits.
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2010
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Presently I have a computer running 64 bit Windows Vista. Are there any risks installing 32 bit windows 7? I wonder, if one installs the 32 bit version can one subsequently upgrade to 64 bit on the same license?
 

draceena

That Crazy Amazon Chick!
VIP Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2009
Messages
773
Reaction score
182
Presently I have a computer running 64 bit Windows Vista. Are there any risks installing 32 bit windows 7? I wonder, if one installs the 32 bit version can one subsequently upgrade to 64 bit on the same license?
Yes you can, just grab a retail version & it will have 2 DVD's in it, one for 32bit and the other for 64. If you go 32bit, you have to reinstall everything to move to 64bit so it's not an 'upgrade' in that way
 
Ad

Advertisements

Kalario

Aquarius
VIP Member
Joined
Dec 15, 2009
Messages
590
Reaction score
68
Yes you can, just grab a retail version & it will have 2 DVD's in it, one for 32bit and the other for 64. If you go 32bit, you have to reinstall everything to move to 64bit so it's not an 'upgrade' in that way
And one product key for both versions.
 

Nibiru2012

Quick Scotty, beam me up!
VIP Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2009
Messages
4,955
Reaction score
1,302
Use the Bing search engine and you'll be able to find these downloads of the ISO image files. Copy and paste the X15-*****.iso into Bing and search from there.

32 bit Home Premium: X15-65732.iso
64 bit Home Premium: X15-65733.iso
32 bit Professional: X15-65804.iso
64 bit professional: X15-65805.iso

The search will then produce a download link that looks like this:

http://msft-dnl.digitalrivercontent.net/msvista/pub/X15-65805/X15-65805.iso
 

DOA

Joined
Dec 4, 2009
Messages
24
Reaction score
3
My two cents:
Install Win7 64, we will be forced there in the near future so you might as well get your support train started as well as your hardware upgrades. 64 bit hardware and the Mac 64 bit OS has been around for a while now so MS has to at least match it.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jul 2, 2010
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
...
I have window 7 64bit business... i want to change to 32bit business..
my window 7 is OEM version
so.. if i can find a window 7 32bit business OEM version DVD, then i can use the dvd to install 32bit window but using my 64bit cd key?
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top