I backed my vista up


Joined
Sep 1, 2009
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
I backed my vista up but will that save the windows and backup if i wanna remove windows 7 rc ?
 
Ad

Advertisements

Ian

Administrator
Joined
Oct 17, 2008
Messages
3,473
Reaction score
632
What did you use to back up Windows Vista?
 

Veedaz

~
VIP Member
Joined
Sep 1, 2009
Messages
1,988
Reaction score
374
Hi Liloma, just wondering what program did you use to backup Vista ? did it backup the complete partition / Vista Operating System ? and does the program burn the backup to Disk ?
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2009
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
i used backup restore and i backed up windows vista home preimum and it did burn on completley
 
Joined
Jun 23, 2009
Messages
19
Reaction score
0
Liloma,
Did you use a program to clone your drive or did you just back up your data? The only way a backup would restore your previous partition is if you cloned your drive in it's current state. If you did so, then yes, you would be able to restore the image and remove Windows 7. If not, you would have to reinstall Windows Vista and restore your data as well as reinstall your software applications.
Also for further assitance, Microsoft does have an official Windows 7 Support Forum located here http://tinyurl.com/9fhdl5 . It is supported by product specialists as well as engineers and support teams.
Jessica
Microsoft Windows Client Team
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Sep 1, 2009
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
I back my vista up

I backed my vista up on 2 cds because when i got my vista i backed it up as soon as i got it the pc
 

Veedaz

~
VIP Member
Joined
Sep 1, 2009
Messages
1,988
Reaction score
374
Hi Liloma - just to get the picture here your now using Windows 7 ... yes ?, is Windows 7 on a separate partition to Vista ? or a separate Hard Drive ?, or when you installed Windows 7 did you formate Vista off say your C:\ Drive ?
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2009
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Hi Liloma - just to get the picture here your now using Windows 7 ... yes ?, is Windows 7 on a separate partition to Vista ? or a separate Hard Drive ?, or when you installed Windows 7 did you formate Vista off say your C:\ Drive ?

its partioned but if i upgrade to win 7 when i get will it go back to vista if i recover
 

clifford_cooley

VIP Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
5,063
Reaction score
1,184
Hi Liloma

If you are going to replace you Vista with Windows 7. A simple windows backup to CD's will not restore Windows Vista from Windows 7. What you need to look into here is cloning software to clone your whole drive Windows Vista included not just backing up your data to CD's

If you are going to dual boot Windows Vista and Windows 7 then you dont need to worry about backing up. In order to dual boot you will need to install Windows 7 to a different drive other than the one Windows Vista is on.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Veedaz

~
VIP Member
Joined
Sep 1, 2009
Messages
1,988
Reaction score
374
If you decide to install Windows 7 as an upgrade (formating Vista) and the backup you made was within Vista you will need the MS Vista Disk to reinstall Vista ... but if you get the Windows 7 Disk you could have a dual boot (Vista on C partition and Windows 7 on D partition (you get a choice at startup as to what Operating System you want to use)
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top