How to Mount an ISO File - Discussion


Ad

Advertisements

Veedaz

~
VIP Member
Joined
Sep 1, 2009
Messages
1,988
Reaction score
374
Great article Ian, and Virtual Clone Drive (yes its retail - and worth it) is good software :), i do like the easy burn (ISO) in Windows 7 very handy as is Ian's article.

Thanks Ian :top:
 

Ian

Administrator
Joined
Oct 17, 2008
Messages
3,473
Reaction score
632
Great article Ian, and Virtual Clone Drive (yes its retail - and worth it) is good software :), i do like the easy burn (ISO) in Windows 7 very handy as is Ian's article.

Thanks Ian :top:
Glad you like it Veedaz :) The Virtual Clone Drive software (standalone) is currently freeware, but the more advanced CloneDVD/AnyDVD software is retail.

My current preference is VCD as it's quite unintrusive and works well. A great little utility :D
 
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
133
Reaction score
29
Excellent stuff. I was hunting for such software to mount ISO's only yesterday and just spotted this article. Many thanks Ian
 

Thrax

VIP Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2009
Messages
925
Reaction score
362
I've been using MagicDisc for years. Great program. :)
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
What's the difference between this and a virtual machine?
 

Ian

Administrator
Joined
Oct 17, 2008
Messages
3,473
Reaction score
632
What's the difference between this and a virtual machine?
Mounting an image file will allow you to access the data as if it was a drive on your PC. An ISO file is a single file that contains an "image" of a disk (all of the information on it), but it isn't readable without mounting it or using an extraction tool.

A virtual machine is exactly what is sounds like, a virtual computer that you can use (very handy!). This may also mount ISOs, as you may need to use a Windows 7 install DVD to get the virtual machine installed. As it doesn't have a physical drive connected to the virtual machine, it can either use the one seen in your main OS (as a pass-through) or you can mount an image file.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jun 4, 2012
Messages
109
Reaction score
7
Does virtual clone drive use stpd.sys file.TrinableMan said that Magic ISO and deamon tools use it,I'm having a littlt BSODs with stpd.sys
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top