how do I stop the change user thing?

Discussion in 'Installation, Setup and Updates' started by anon125, Sep 15, 2016.

  1. anon125

    anon125

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    2
    I had to set computer back to factory specs and now I a greeted all the time with the change user page.
    Iam the only user.
    I got rid of it before but forget how.
    Thanks
     
    anon125, Sep 15, 2016
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. anon125

    TrainableMan ^ The World's First ^ Moderator

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    9,104
    Likes Received:
    1,592
    Location:
    PA, USA
    TrainableMan, Sep 17, 2016
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. anon125

    anon125

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    2
    sadly I tried that - see pic
    thanks
     

    Attached Files:

    anon125, Sep 17, 2016
    #3
  4. anon125

    anon125

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    2
    windows home premium win 7/64
     
    anon125, Sep 17, 2016
    #4
  5. anon125

    TrainableMan ^ The World's First ^ Moderator

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    9,104
    Likes Received:
    1,592
    Location:
    PA, USA
    when you unchecked the box & click apply you should get another window which says "automatically log on" & in that box you must enter your password & confirm it (userid should already be in the first box); it uses this userid & pswd to login.

    if you didn't get that then check the must enter user name & pswd box & hit apply. then uncheck it and hit apply again. make sure it has your login & pswd in the auto log in box that appears.
     
    TrainableMan, Sep 18, 2016
    #5
  6. anon125

    anon125

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    2
    there is just me so I have never used a password.
    what am I misunderstanding?
    no second box appears. but then I am not choosing a password
    thanks
     
    anon125, Sep 18, 2016
    #6
  7. anon125

    TrainableMan ^ The World's First ^ Moderator

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    9,104
    Likes Received:
    1,592
    Location:
    PA, USA
    Can you take a screenshot with your phone of the change user screen you are talking about and then upload the picture here? I figured it was the screen where it asks you to choose a userid as soon as the computer boots up to Win7. But If you only have one login and it has no password then the system should log you in automatically bypassing that screen.
     
    TrainableMan, Sep 19, 2016
    #7
  8. anon125

    anon125

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    2
    great idea! thanks
    sorry it is not sharper
    i have 2 toshiba laptops. both were set up to start at the desktop and skip this annoyance.
    they both only ever had one account.
    this problem arose when i had to set it back to factory specs.
    thanks
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Sep 19, 2016
    anon125, Sep 19, 2016
    #8
  9. anon125

    anon125

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    2
    after 2 restarts it is gone!
    thanks all
     
    anon125, Sep 20, 2016
    #9
  10. anon125

    anon125

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    2
    " I thought it was a goner but the cat came back"

    that pest is back!

    GRRRRR!!!
     
    anon125, Sep 20, 2016
    #10
  11. anon125

    TrainableMan ^ The World's First ^ Moderator

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    9,104
    Likes Received:
    1,592
    Location:
    PA, USA
    I'll be honest I think I would just set a password for your ID and then tell it to automatically log in with it. If that doesn't work then it is likely an issue in the registry, something that would need modified but I'm not sure what.
     
    TrainableMan, Sep 22, 2016
    #11
  12. anon125

    anon125

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    2
    thanks
     
    anon125, Sep 22, 2016
    #12
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
  1. mtheriault

    How to move User profile directory c:\User\Profile

    mtheriault, Oct 9, 2009, in forum: General Discussion
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    17,755
    mtheriault
    Nov 20, 2009
  2. Esteve Valentí

    change user

    Esteve Valentí, Jul 23, 2010, in forum: alt.windows7.general
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    1,122
    Esteve Valentí
    Jul 25, 2010
  3. majinserge
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    1,546
    majinserge
    Jun 7, 2016
  4. anon125

    do i need a better computer?

    anon125, Jul 13, 2016, in forum: General Discussion
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    638
    TrainableMan
    Apr 14, 2017
  5. William Palazzo
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    1,515
    William Palazzo
    Aug 17, 2016
  6. Cool_Omar

    Do I have a virus?

    Cool_Omar, Oct 30, 2016, in forum: Windows 7 Support
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    562
    Sammy Jaouhari
    Apr 18, 2017
  7. Sucme
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    862
    john steadman
    Dec 25, 2016
  8. Erez
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    409
Loading...