Help on Building a new computer

Reaction score
Hello,

I recently found this forum and was hoping to find some guidance on potentially building a new desktop. I noticed there was some great information that was provided to someone else in regards to building a gaming desktop so I thought I would post as well.

I am a futures trader and I will use this computer on a daily basis. I am looking to build a computer that will support up to 6 monitors as I view various data on different screens. I would like to build a computer that can handle large amounts of incoming data, as I pull information directly from exchanges.

I currently am using an HP, with an I5 processor, and supports 3 monitors. I have 6GB of RAM, but would like to have at a minimum 8GB of RAM on this new PC, as some of the programs I run are memory intense.

I have never built a computer before but am technically competent and feel confident with given the proper direction I could accomplish the task.

Any advice, and or suggestions on a set up would be greatly appreciated.

Shawn

Reaction score
Research, research and more research....read and read. But the actual physical build of a PC is the easiest part. It's making sure that the components you select are compatible with one another and are on the QVL (qualified vendors list). A great learning curve.

Reaction score
Clifford,

Thanks for the reply. I was actually looking through some of the graphic card websites and ran across this from AMD, that atleast says it will support up to 6 monitors.I believe that is similiar to what you have linked as well, so thank you for that information. Assuming I went with a graphics card such as those listed above, what would you recommend as far as some of the other main components?

http://www.amd.com/us/products/technologies/amd-eyefinity-technology/Pages/eyefinity.aspx

Reaction score