SOLVED Help!: Administrator has locked himself out of a file

Reaction score
ok so I'm new to having a shared pc, and I tried to lock a file from another users access and I accidently blocked access to all administrators.

here are the steps I think I took to lock my self out
1.Right Click on the file
2.Properties
3.Security
4.and I accidently denied access to all Administrators
5.and it went downhill from there

Its a REALLY important work file, so this is Urgent please help

Last edited:

davehc

Microsoft MVP
Reaction score
You best get in as the Global Administrator and sort it out!

There are a couple of ways:
Open a command prompt(Run as Administrator.
Type the following command and enter.
net user administrator /active
Log out and see if you have a new alternative login, as well as your existing one. If not, do it the long way.
Shut down the computer for a cold boot. Tap the "F8" key as you are booting.
Select "Safe Mode with networking" from the boot menu.
Log into windows 7 with your personal account that holds the administrator access.
Open a command window (START--->RUN--->CMD.exe). At the command prompt type the following net user administrator /active
Log out and log back in as administrator.

You should then be able to access the other users and alter the security state.

Another way
Go to Start
Type Control UserPasswords2.
Click Advanced.
Click Advanced again.
Select Users.
Select Administrator and untick the the box “Administrator is disabled”
Now log out and login as Administrator.
The action leaves you a little more vulnerable to outside attack. Not a big issue if you are confident with your anti virus control etc.

Last edited:
Reaction score
:( first two didnt work and the lasts not the issue

I am the Admin and I still have all the powers,its just that I stop all admin's from accessing the folder

i will upload some pics maybe they can help

Attachments

TrainableMan

^ The World's First ^
Reaction score