Change where icons start on Desktop? Is that possible?

Discussion in 'Customization' started by eluvs, Jan 4, 2016.

  1. eluvs

    eluvs

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have 2 monitors here at work and I normally use a Mac at home and really want to customize my desktop to make it so the new icons that appear on my desktop don't appear on the left side of the screen, but on the right. I can't find anything to make that possible. The way I am using my monitors, I want to have all my icons stay on the right side of the right monitor instead of always popping up on the left side of the right monitor. I attached my screen to here so you can see how I want this to stay
     

    Attached Files:

    eluvs, Jan 4, 2016
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. eluvs

    TrainableMan ^ The World's First ^ Moderator

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    8,995
    Likes Received:
    1,581
    Location:
    PA, USA
    Except for manually moving them to the right there is nothing in native W7.

    I do not believe it will help when brand new icons are created but you might try >>THIS<< to remember where after you place the icons, if they seem to move around like when you turn on/off one monitor. It does not mention W7 and I never tried it myself but I found it mentioned in Microsoft Help forums for W7 so it might be worth a try; let us know your results if you do.
     
    TrainableMan, Jan 7, 2016
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. eluvs

    eluvs

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    That didn't work even after restarting my computer. Also this doesn't seem to say anything about when new things come to the desktop. I download things to my desktop and not my downloads folder. If this were to work, does this work even for new icons that are added? That's my major problem with this
     
    eluvs, Jan 7, 2016
    #3
  4. eluvs

    TrainableMan ^ The World's First ^ Moderator

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    8,995
    Likes Received:
    1,581
    Location:
    PA, USA
    As I said "I do not believe it will help when brand new icons are created" so no it wouldn't help with that
    ... and to my knowledge there is no way, no program I ever heard of, to do that.

    The tool I found was more a way to restore the position of icons you have told it to "remember", so not new ones, only ones you manually placed on the screen and then triggered it to store the chosen spot.
     
    TrainableMan, Jan 8, 2016
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads
  1. Ow My Brain

    Unable to change desktop icons

    Ow My Brain, Jan 16, 2009, in forum: Windows 7 Support
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    3,275
    Ow My Brain
    Jan 16, 2009
  2. Roland Schweiger
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    5,269
    undisclosed
    May 16, 2010
  3. Veedaz

    Change System Icons

    Veedaz, Feb 13, 2010, in forum: Customization
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    4,176
    Veedaz
    Feb 14, 2010
  4. Joel Sanda

    Application icons for Taskbar "Small icons"

    Joel Sanda, Aug 19, 2010, in forum: alt.windows7.general
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    1,917
    Roy Smith
    Aug 20, 2010
  5. nijjhar

    W7 does not show desktop icons or start button

    nijjhar, Aug 23, 2012, in forum: Installation, Setup and Updates
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    2,300
    nijjhar
    Aug 24, 2012
Loading...