cant access root drive as I've lost admin rights


Ali

Joined
Aug 18, 2009
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Hi;

I installed Windows7 recently. I was changing permissions and accidently denied authenticated users to C drive. I was logged in as admin which is the only account. Now I cant access anythig in C Drive and cant execute any thing. I tried through safe mode as well but of no use. How can I regain access or reset permissions.

Any help would be appreciated!

cheers
 
Ad

Advertisements

Ali

Joined
Aug 18, 2009
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
I tried every possible thing to reset permissions but could'nt. I had to reinstall W7!
 

Kougar

OCing one chip at a time
VIP Member
Joined
May 11, 2009
Messages
588
Reaction score
116
Sorry to hear that Ali... why were you needing to change file permissions, if I may ask?
 

Ali

Joined
Aug 18, 2009
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
I was trying to give permission to all users to avoid the UAC prompt all the time which is annoying. I did something similar in vista and that worked but this time I must have done something stupid without realizing the consequences:) waste of time but learnt a lesson:)
 

BetaMan

Official G33k
VIP Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2009
Messages
463
Reaction score
29
How to avoid UAC prompt: Control Panel > System and Security > Under "Action Center" there should be a link that says "Change User Account Control Settings". Click it and move the slider to the bottom, hit apply. ;) Grats, you just disabled Microsofts worst invention in Windows 7.
 
Ad

Advertisements

clifford_cooley

VIP Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
5,063
Reaction score
1,184
Microsoft's worst invention in Windows 7.
I don't like the UAC controls either and disable it on every install. However I do see a purpose in having these settings in a office environment for a system administrator.
 

Ali

Joined
Aug 18, 2009
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
thanks BetaMan but I know how to disable UAC by now:)
Is there any way I dont disable UAC but still run a particular .exe as an administrator without prompt so that only my trusted programs bypass the UAC dialog? as I have set a program's properties to always run it as an admin.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2009
Messages
64
Reaction score
4
Ali,take a look on this site,from hier i doe many usefull things i want on many operations systems read carefull the suggestions to make ok? what you can get it on windows vista tweeks voor 7 you must read looking for.
Goed luck mate.
King64.http://www.howtogeek.com/tag/windows-7/
 
Ad

Advertisements


Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top