Cannot create restore point i Win 7 RC


Joined
Feb 11, 2009
Messages
18
Reaction score
0
I have 2 fysical HD on my machine.
On one HD I run Vista Business on the other I run Win 7 RC

On the Win 7 RC I cannot create a restore point. I receive err. mess. as Capture_1

Any suggestion will be appreciated. But keep in min I am not a pro. Just a beginner
Thank´s
 

Attachments

Kougar

OCing one chip at a time
VIP Member
Joined
May 11, 2009
Messages
588
Reaction score
116
Go to run -> services.msc

With the Services window open browse down until you find "Volume Shadow Copy" and manually start the service. Then try to make another restore point and see if it works.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Feb 11, 2009
Messages
18
Reaction score
0
Go to run -> services.msc

With the Services window open browse down until you find "Volume Shadow Copy" and manually start the service. Then try to make another restore point and see if it works.
Kougar
Have been workin hard on this all day.
I did restore the entire HD to a version dated June 13-09 (Acronis backup)
I then had a bunch of uppdates to handle.
Updated one item at a time and after each one tried to make a restore point.
I could make restore points after all uppdates??

So non of the updates received had to do with my problem then??
The mystirium is still there. What had caused my problem
We will probably never learn.

But i am a happy Win 7 fan again :):)

Thank you for your suggestion to the problem anyway

Michael
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2009
Messages
18
Reaction score
0
There may be a conflict when dual booting Vista and Win7 just as there is dual booting XP and Vista. Restore points are wiped on every boot into the other OS:
http://blogs.technet.com/filecab/archive/2006/07/14/441829.aspx
James
Is this true also if one has 2 fysical HD where each OS has its own fysical HD??
I am abit of a novis in this!!
Michael

Edit: I think I got the message after reading the blog!!!!

Well we will have to wait for the win 7 RCM and then leave Vista at rest...
 
Last edited:

clifford_cooley

VIP Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
5,059
Reaction score
1,184
Leakimtrebe there is third party boot managers that will not be affected by this. The third party boot managers hide all other OS's from the one you are Booting too. The Restore Points will not be affected if the drives are hidden.
 
Last edited:
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Feb 11, 2009
Messages
18
Reaction score
0
Leakimtrebe there is third party boot managers that will not be affected by this. The third party boot managers hide all other OS's from the one you are Booting too. The Restore Points will not be affected if the drives are hidden.
Thanks fot the information.
will look into this.
Michael
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2009
Messages
18
Reaction score
0
There may be a conflict when dual booting Vista and Win7 just as there is dual booting XP and Vista. Restore points are wiped on every boot into the other OS:
http://blogs.technet.com/filecab/archive/2006/07/14/441829.aspx
James i have received this replay from
The Storage team at Microsoft - File Cabinet Blog:
That configuration is fine. The restore point deletion issue only applies if you dual boot with XP.
i.e. XP + Vista or XP + W7

Regards
Michael
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Feb 10, 2016
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
I cant get it to create a restore point due to volume shadow copy error. the error is I dont even have a volume shadow copy service. Ive looked all over the web for a download and found none except third party ones that dont fix the problem. I tried sfc /scannow and it didnt fix it.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top