Can I remove Log off from the Start Menu?


Joined
Oct 22, 2009
Messages
240
Reaction score
1
Start Menu - then Shut Down -

Any way to remove : Switch User, Log Off AND Lock- Only need Shut Down & Restart.
 
Ad

Advertisements

clifford_cooley

VIP Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
5,063
Reaction score
1,185
Sorry :( I don't know of a way. Maybe someone esle will know if it is possible.
 

davehc

VIP Member
Joined
Jul 20, 2009
Messages
1,958
Reaction score
502

clifford_cooley

VIP Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
5,063
Reaction score
1,185
gpedit.msc

doent come up on my computer in the "search" or "run" box

Is there another way to get to "Group Policies"
 

clifford_cooley

VIP Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
5,063
Reaction score
1,185
Thats OK, I'm fine with it the way it is. That does explain why I did have use of "Group Policies" in the Beta/RC and I don't now. :)
 
Ad

Advertisements

davehc

VIP Member
Joined
Jul 20, 2009
Messages
1,958
Reaction score
502
Yes. It is customisation for the sake of it really. Doesn't achieve much of great value.

But now my curiosity is aroused. I have changed the two reg entries to remove it and it did not work. (The Gpedit works of course) Query off to MS - lol
 

davehc

VIP Member
Joined
Jul 20, 2009
Messages
1,958
Reaction score
502
Ill save you the trouble. It is a spreadsheet. Its value is that you can scroll down and, if you are comfortable with regist editing, you can read the paths for each function. I have tried the path for the topic under discussion and it did not work as it did in Gpedit. Sorry for the disappointment. Warning! This spreadsheet is enormous.
I cannot attache it as it is well outside the limits of such for this forum.
But you can grab it here if you are still interested
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/...80-8b0a-4906-a4f5-ff24cc2030fb&DisplayLang=en

It is the Vista (last) one you need. The functions are the same as for Windows 7.
 
Ad

Advertisements


Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top