64bit version running on a 32bit system

Reaction score
I have a 32bit system type Toshiba laptop. I've accidentally bought a 64 bit version on Windows 7 - will it still work if I install it, or am I out $200?
I'm really a rookie when it comes to all this, sorry if my terminology is incorrect.

Reaction score
I'm not 100% sure, I'll have to check when I get home. Will that make a big difference in the answers I could get?
I bought it off ebay, and wanted to wipe it clean and have a fresh start with a new operating system

Reaction score
Well you might find that your Laptop has a 32/64 bit CPU and therefore will be able to run the new OS you just bought. If it isn't then you may have wasted you money mate. Did you open the packaging yet? Can you return to where you brought it from and exchange for 32 bit?

I could be wrong but I thought it was just the OEM copies that only came with one disc? Retail packs should have 32 + 64 bit DVD's. Can anyone confirm for sure as I run OEM?

Reaction score
I actually thought it was an OEM version that I bought - the sales guy said it was what I needed

Veedaz

~
Reaction score
If your 64-bit Windows 7 is in a sealed box don't open it until you have checked out your Laptop to see if it can run 64-bit ... if it cant you may be able to exchange it for 32-bit.

Post the model number of your laptop and I'm sure one of the members will be able to tell you if your Laptop can support 64-bit Software.

Reaction score
So what makes you think you have a 32 bit Laptop? Did the sales guy see the laptop prior to selling you a 64 bit OEM copy of 7?

Reaction score
No the sales guy didn't see it prior to me purchasing it - I just told him I wanted a copy of windows 7 and he said this is what I need.
I got home, and someone told me to look at my system properties and it says System Type 32bit operating system.

As I said, I really am a rookie when it comes to this stuff

Reaction score