Help with windows 7 upgrade 32bit version to windows 7 64bit version


Joined
Feb 13, 2010
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
I have a Acer 7520 laptop that is compatible for a 64bit version...I have Windows 7 Home Premium now and want to upgrade to Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit version...My question is how do I go about this and what concerns I may have with drivers or any other things I may not be aware of.....Thanks fo any help you can give....Dubld24lo
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Nov 4, 2009
Messages
217
Reaction score
50
It is my understanding that to switch from 32bit to 64bit a re-install is required. In other words you cannot upgrade from 32 to 64. I would recommend making sure that your hardware drivers are available in 64bit as well as any software that you use regularly.

Visit HERE for more help
 
Last edited:

Veedaz

~
VIP Member
Joined
Sep 1, 2009
Messages
1,988
Reaction score
374
Hi dubld24lo welcome to Windows 7 Forums

Your Laptops spec >

The Aspire 7520 is designed for multimedia enthusiasts. Powerful AMD Turion 64 X2 Dual-Core Mobile Technology is complemented by a brilliant 17" display, NVIDIA graphics and Dolby -certified surround sound system.
 
Product Specification:
Storage Controller Serial ATA Interface Serial ATA-150
Type Serial ATA
Input Device(s) Features Built-in numeric keyboard
Type Keyboard, touchpad, 4-way scroll button
Battery Installed Qty 1
Technology 8-cell lithium ion
Run Time (Up To) 3 hour(s)
Processor Chipset Type NVIDIA GeForce 7000M / nForce 610M
64-bit Computing Yes
Multi-Core Technology Dual-Core
Processor AMD Turion 64 X2 mobile technology TL-52 / 1.6 GHz
Card Reader Supported Flash Memory Cards SD Memory Card, Memory Stick, Memory Stick PRO, MultiMediaCard, xD-Picture Card
Type 5 in 1 card reader
Networking Compliant Standards IEEE 802.11b, IEEE 802.11g, Wi-Fi CERTIFIED, Bluetooth 2.0
Data Link Protocol Ethernet, Fast Ethernet, IEEE 802.11b, IEEE 802.11g, Bluetooth 2.0 EDR
Wireless NIC Acer InviLink 802.11b/g
Wireless LAN Supported Yes
Networking Network adapter
Features Acer SignalUp
Optical Storage Rewrite Speed 16x (CD) / 6x (DVD-RW) / 8x (DVD+RW) / 5x (DVD-RAM)
Write Speed 24x (CD) / 8x (DVD±R) / 4x (DVD±R DL)
Read Speed 24x (CD) / 8x (DVD±R) / 6x (DVD±R DL)
Type DVD±RW (±R DL) / DVD-RAM - integrated
Expansion / Connectivity Interfaces 1 x modem - RJ-11 ¦ 1 x network - Ethernet 10Base-T/100Base-TX/1000Base-T - RJ-45 ¦ 1 x display / video - VGA - 15 pin HD D-Sub (HD-15) ¦ 1 x audio - SPDIF output/headphones/line-out - mini-phone stereo 3.5 mm ¦ 1 x microphone - input - mini-phone 3.5 mm ¦ 1 x audio - line-in - mini-phone 3.5 mm ¦ 1 x display / video - S-video output ¦ 1 x IEEE 1394 (FireWire) ¦ 1 x infrared - IrDA ¦ 4 x Hi-Speed USB - 4 pin USB Type A
Expansion Slots Total (Free) 2 ( 0 ) x memory ¦ 1 ( 1 ) x ExpressCard/54
Operating System / Software OS Provided Windows Vista Home Premium
Software Adobe Acrobat Reader, Acer Launch Manager, NTI CD-Maker (OEM), Acer GridVista, Acer Arcade, CyberLink PowerProducer (OEM), Acer Empowering Technology, Acer Crystal Eye, Acer Video Conference Manager, Norton Internet Security (OEM), Acer GameZone
General Localization United States
Weight 8.2 lbs
Height 1.7 in
Depth 11.7 in
Width 15.9 in
Built-in Devices Stereo speakers, wireless LAN antenna, Bluetooth antenna
System Type Notebook
Storage Hard Drive 160 GB - Serial ATA-150
Video Graphics Processor / Vendor NVIDIA GeForce Go 7000M
Video Memory 256 MB
Telecom Modem Fax / modem
Protocols & Specifications ITU V.92
Display Features CrystalBrite
Widescreen Display Yes
Max Resolution 1440 x 900 ( WXGA+ )
Display Type 17" TFT
Color Support 24-bit (16.7 million colors)
RAM Configuration Features 2 x 1 GB
Technology DDR2 SDRAM - 667 MHz
Installed Size 2 GB / 4 GB (max)
Notebook Camera Camera Type Integrated
Power Voltage Required AC 120/230 V ( 50/60 Hz )
Power Device External
Cache Memory Installed Size 1 MB
Type L2 cache
Manufacturer Warranty Service & Support Details Limited warranty - parts and labor - 1 year ¦ Traveler warranty - 1 year
Service & Support 1 year warranty

Audio Audio Input Microphone
Audio Output Sound card
Compliant Standards Dolby Digital Live, Dolby Pro Logic II, High Definition Audio

You should be fine with Windows 7 64-bit but do perform a clean install and do note the advice from roban, good luck :)
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2010
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
I basically would like to do the same thing . I have a Core i7 860 /IntelDP55KG/NvidiaGTX275 Box ,running Win7 Ultimate 32bit,w/4GB ram ,And I want to upgrade to 64bit .I have a single WD 1TB HDD . I already have lots of files,Movies,songs ,Game ect, .Will I be able ,to Partition My HDD to install 64bit ,and Keep my 32bit ,and old files ???? without destroying them???? I am regretful that I did not Start with 64bit in the first place. Or will I have to Buy a second HDD ????? Money is quite tight now!!!
 

Nibiru2012

Quick Scotty, beam me up!
VIP Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2009
Messages
4,955
Reaction score
1,302
You WILL have to do a "clean install" or as Windows 7 calls it; a custom install.

You CAN partition your hard drive, but I would only keep the files, movies and songs. You'll have to re-install your games, applications and other programs.

You can use Partition Wizard to do this from a bootable CD. There is a 30MB ISO CD image file at their website you can download and burn to either a CD-RW or CD-R disc. IT'S FREE!

Partition Wizard Bootable CD allows user to boot computer directly into Partition Wizard to manage partitions without any limitations.

Features including Rebuild MBR, Partition Recovery, Move/Resize Partition, Copy Partition, Create Partition, Delete Partition, Format Partition, Convert File System, Hide/Unhide Partition, Explore Partition and much more.

You can use ImgBurn which is a free IMG burning software or CDBurnerXP which is also free, but has many more features.

Functions of Partition Wizard Bootable CD
Partition Wizard Bootable CD has the same features as of Partition Wizard Home/Business Edition. Features include: Move/Resize Partition, Copy Partition, Create Partition, Delete Partition, Format Partition, Convert File System, Hide/Unhide Partition, Explore Partition, Partition Recovery, Convert Dynamic Disk to Basic Disk, Rebuild MBR and much more.

System requirement
Partition Wizard Bootable CD support 32/64 bit Windows XP, Vista and Windows 7

Version 4.2.2 has solved the technical limitations of bootable CD. Now you can use this new bootable CD image to boot your PC and manage partitions just like Partition Wizard Windows edition.

How to get Partition Wizard Bootable CD
Download Partition Wizard Bootable CD iso file absolutely FREE from http://www.partitionwizard.com/download.html. Burn ISO file onto a CD using any CD/DVD Burner software.


If you can afford another hard drive I would get one, it's more convenient to do it that way plus keeping the OS separate from your valued files. Get a 160GB SATA II hard drive an use is for you OS, or whatever size you can afford.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 17, 2010
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Thank you very much !!! The only problem I see is That I bought the Game CRYSIS ,via Download from "Steam" I don't mind downloading it again , but I would hate to have to start over ,as I am halfway through it!!! Maybe I can save my game saves??? Or even Burn My Files to a DVD??? To save CRYSIS?
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Feb 17, 2010
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
I think I will Just Buy another Hard Drive ,That seems to Be the best way to do this!!!! Thank you Very Much!!!! I really would Love a Velociraptor , But ,A 7200rpm will have to do for Now!!!!
 

Nibiru2012

Quick Scotty, beam me up!
VIP Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2009
Messages
4,955
Reaction score
1,302
Velociraptors aren't all they're cracked up to be. If I had the money for one of those I would just bite the bullet a little more and get an SSD.

No offense... just my opinion.
 

Veedaz

~
VIP Member
Joined
Sep 1, 2009
Messages
1,988
Reaction score
374
If you want true speed you would need to put 2+ SSDs in a RAID configuration, then you will see some performance that would leave Raptors behind ;)
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2010
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Yes , I forgot about SSD's I think ,once they start to come down in price ,It will be a no Brainer to upgrade to one.
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2010
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Thank you for all your great advise . I found a 160 GB Western Digital Caviar Blue HD at Comp usa.com for $44.00 !!!! Perfect!!!!! What a deal !!!!
 
Ad

Advertisements

yodap

No longer shovelling
VIP Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2009
Messages
1,430
Reaction score
340
I hope I'm not to late, but the WD black series is rated much better and have fewer failures than the blue or green series. If it's just a temporary thing until you get a SSD, you found a good price on that blue.
 

Nibiru2012

Quick Scotty, beam me up!
VIP Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2009
Messages
4,955
Reaction score
1,302
If you want true speed you would need to put 2+ SSDs in a RAID configuration, then you will see some performance that would leave Raptors behind ;)
That certainly is an understatement! SSD in RAID literally goes into the lightspeed realm!
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2010
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
tHANX yO' Yes I would say it is Temporary ,as I did not Build this system to be Medeocre ,and as soon as It is do-able I will change to SSD's in Raid 0 !!!! Must be insane!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I am just soo pissed at myself for Starting with 32bit in the first place.
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2010
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Well ,I just Installed my 160 GB Seagate Barracuda .(Got it for $42.00) !!!!! And I am Nervous to Install my new 64bit OS . I am like Halfway through CRYSIS !!! and I could not Imagine Losing my game ,and having to start all over again!!!!! Even though it is on my 1TB drive. Will it still Work with 64 bit???? And If I load My OS on the 160 GB ,and all My other files are on the 1 TB , how do I access files ???? Do I have to Drag them To My new Drive?? I have never had multiple HD's before. And I never want to have to use a 32bit OS again!!!!!!!!
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2010
Messages
165
Reaction score
77
WIN7 32 bit to WIN 7 64bit

I have just completed this SUCCESSFULLY if you have WINDOWS 7 GUNUINE HOME PREMIUM it has the both 32bit & 64 bit versions on it,then use windows anytime upgrade to upgrade from Home Premium 64 bit to Ultimate(Keeping in Mind) if your system has a 32 bit OEM installed by Acer then you have to purchase another copy as they are only 32 bit OEM'S for free WIN7 upgrade which provided by Acer will be same a 32bit
if you are confused send me your system specs to (e-mail address removed)
I would be happy to give you the correct advice
regards
jeffreyobrien



I have a Acer 7520 laptop that is compatible for a 64bit version...I have Windows 7 Home Premium now and want to upgrade to Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit version...My question is how do I go about this and what concerns I may have with drivers or any other things I may not be aware of.....Thanks fo any help you can give....Dubld24lo
 
Ad

Advertisements

catilley1092

Win 7/Linux Mint Lover
VIP Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2009
Messages
3,507
Reaction score
563
Are these anytime upgrades any good? The reason I ask, I have a friend who like me has Home Premium 64 bit, but wants to move to Ultimate. I don't know what to tell him, only that in the US, these type of upgrades have not been what was expected. Welcome to the forums, Jefferyobrien!
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2010
Messages
165
Reaction score
77
Are these anytime upgrades any good?

catilley,
mate mine(WIN7 ULTIMATE) has windows anytime upgrade on the copy of Ultimate I was sent,call 132058 ask for fulfillment and request an Ultimate 64 bit copy with windows anytime upgrade mine was sent in 5 days.You can purchase these at Harvey Normans also the US Website will do same as Australian however if it were me I would purchase the upgrade & Install it myself easier,safer,more efficent to re-install later down the track.Hope this helps and thanks for the welcome
regards
jeffreyobrien

Are these anytime upgrades any good? The reason I ask, I have a friend who like me has Home Premium 64 bit, but wants to move to Ultimate. I don't know what to tell him, only that in the US, these type of upgrades have catilleynot been what was expected. Welcome to the forums, Jefferyobrien!
 

clifford_cooley

VIP Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
5,063
Reaction score
1,184
Hi Jeffreyobrien - Welcome to w7forums

I may also be interested in the upgrade at a later date.
Thanks for the info. :)
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Feb 21, 2010
Messages
165
Reaction score
77
Clifford,
As I am a very loyal Microsoft customer and Love GENUINE MICROSOFT SOFTWARE Please just call for help when needed as if I know the answer (fix) I will help until it's done.
respectfully
Jeffreyobrien
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top