What kind of memory do i need to replace 2x2gb to 2x4gb?


Joined
Oct 31, 2013
Messages
180
Reaction score
4
Processor: Intel® Core™ i7-720QM Processor (1.6GHz, L3 Cache 6MB) with Intel® Turbo Boost Technology
Memory Slots / Max: 2 RAM slots, bottom of the unit (user accessible), slot 1 occupied with 2GB, slot 2 occupied with 2GB can be filled with 2GB or 4GB DDR3 / 8GB Max
Memory: (Slot 1 X 2GB) + (Slot 2 X 2GB) DDR3 (1066MHz)
Memory Slots / Available: 2 RAM Slots, NONE Available


are they still available?

thanks
 
Ad

Advertisements

Ian

Administrator
Joined
Oct 17, 2008
Messages
3,481
Reaction score
632
I can't find much in the way of specifications for that ram, other than it's DDR3 1066Mhz as you've already mentioned. It's almost certainly SODIMM memory and there is loads of SODIMM DDR3 1066Mhz available, so should be easy to find.

If the memory slot is easily accessible on the bottom of the laptop, I'd open it up (carefully, without touching RAM) and take a photo to upload here. It'll likely have a sticker that shows the exact specs, including size and timings.
 

Ian

Administrator
Joined
Oct 17, 2008
Messages
3,481
Reaction score
632
The fuzz is just protecting the electrical components.

To take the RAM out, you'd gently pull the metal retaining pins at either side slightly away. Just make sure you've grounded yourself first, to reduce any static that could damage the modules.

It looks like normal SODIMM memory to me, so you can probably buy any sodimm ddr3 1066mhz 4gb module.
 
Joined
Oct 31, 2013
Messages
180
Reaction score
4
The fuzz is just protecting the electrical components.

To take the RAM out, you'd gently pull the metal retaining pins at either side slightly away. Just make sure you've grounded yourself first, to reduce any static that could damage the modules.

It looks like normal SODIMM memory to me, so you can probably buy any sodimm ddr3 1066mhz 4gb module.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Ian

Administrator
Joined
Oct 17, 2008
Messages
3,481
Reaction score
632
Yes, I'm fairly confident that the memory on the link above would work. I checked the chip voltage was 1.5V (rather than DDR3L 1.35v) and it checks out ok. I can't guarantee it, but from what I can tell this is the memory you're after. Micron is a good brand.

Might be worth making sure you can return the memory if it's not compatible.
 
Joined
Oct 31, 2013
Messages
180
Reaction score
4
Thanks. the email to that company bounced out!

PSK3AC-01900X - Satellite L675 - 019

anyway here is the link and pic of the memory of the second laptop
there is 2x2 gb and it can take 2x4gb

any idea what i can add/ replace on this one. and type etc

thanks again
 

Attachments

Last edited:

Ian

Administrator
Joined
Oct 17, 2008
Messages
3,481
Reaction score
632
Looks like identical spec memory :).
 
Joined
Oct 31, 2013
Messages
180
Reaction score
4
the plot thickens!
now we have a rank problem!
"Thank you for contacting Crucial. We are glad to help you.

In response to your query, we would like to inform you that the difference between CT2KIT51264BF160BJ and CT2KIT51264BF160B is rank. CT2KIT51264BF160BJ is a single rank while CT2KIT51264BF160B is a dual rank.

To know more about rank please refer the following link."

what is that in english!!!!
thankw
 
Ad

Advertisements

Ian

Administrator
Joined
Oct 17, 2008
Messages
3,481
Reaction score
632
Are those compatible modules that Crucial recommended? This page seems to be a good overview of the difference:

 
Joined
Oct 31, 2013
Messages
180
Reaction score
4
Thank you for contacting Crucial. We are glad that you have chosen Crucial to upgrade your system. Please refer the following link to identify the list of compatible products for your system.

Satellite P500-018 - https://www.crucial.com/compatible-upgrade-for/dynabook-toshiba/satellite-p500-018

Satellite L675-019 - https://www.crucial.com/compatible-upgrade-for/dynabook-toshiba/satellite-l675-019

We would like to recommend the following product to upgrade your computer.

https://www.crucial.com/memory/ddr3/ct2kit51264bf160b/ct5310230
 
  • Like
Reactions: Ian

Ian

Administrator
Joined
Oct 17, 2008
Messages
3,481
Reaction score
632
That looks like a good recommendation. I really like Crucial memory, so think that'll be a good choice.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Ian

Administrator
Joined
Oct 17, 2008
Messages
3,481
Reaction score
632
I don't think so (just a slightly performance difference), but I'd go with the Crucial recommended choice.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top