Unsolved BSoD mystery.....

Reaction score
Hi All,
This is my first post in this forum. I'm looking forward to reading and joining in with you all here!

I hope someone could help me with a problem I have concerning my system.
First of all, I am a musician and purchased a 3XS D.A.W. (Digital Audio Workstation) pc last November from scan.co.uk.
From the second day of use, I got my first blue screen of death! Just paid £1500, so my heart sank as you could imagine!
This happened when I inserted an 2G Cn Memory flash drive to transfer software from my laptop to the 3XS. I didn't use the drive for a little while after.
Recently, I started using it again, and again it started BSoD my system or after I safely removed it from the USB. I think this might of happened when I never used this particular flash drive one time, which makes me think that there is a chance that this is not the problem after all.

I got in contact with Scan (who have been very helpful!) and they told me to download and install Memtest and give it 10 passes to check for Ram faults. I gave it 13 with no errors.
I was then asked to send them the minidump files.
They came back saying that most were vague but pointed towards kernal issues.
I was then emailed this from the helpful person at Scan...
"
"Had a look through these this morning, and they are quite vague. Each of them points towards a Kernal level issue which normally points to a driver within the system but they don’t specify what driver which tends to point in the direction of an unofficial patch or the such.

We get lucky with one of the files through which points at a memory collision between NFDS & SPSYS.EXE. NFDS is part of the OS disk management system and is fine but SPSYS.EXE reports as a Trojan (a variant of the CODBOT Trojan) which could be the issue your seeing as it appears to be hogging memory space leading to hangs when other applications try to access the same memory locations.