SOLVED selective drive letters not showing

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction score
Hi, i have an odd issue I cannot fathom. When adding a drive (USB/virtual/etc.) certain drive letters will show and certain ones won't. For instance, H, I, J, M, N, O, R, S all do not show in the computer directory but all the rest will. the drives show in disk manager but will not show anywhere else so if I want to use them, I need to open them through disk manager.
My machine has no malware/virus/spyware infection, W7 x64 reinstalled recently, BIOS up to date, all drivers up to date, no problems showing in device manager, view is set to show all drives. Have done much googling on this but to no avail.
I'd really prefer not to reinstall W7 or restore from a backup and was wondering if anyone else has this issue and knows of a fix or reg setting that would sort this out.
I've worked in IT for many years and never seen this so I'm not a newbie but it's just such an odd one i can't figure it out. I've checked in the registry and nothing is amiss, it just started happening out of the blue. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Attached is a screenshot of current drive layout and lettering. In disk mangement I can change the letters no problem and they are all accepted but the drive just won't show with specific letters.

Attachments

TrainableMan

^ The World's First ^
Reaction score
What happens in disk manager (diskmgmt.msc) when you right-click on the unassigned disk? Isn't there an option to assign them a drive letter?

davehc

Microsoft MVP
Reaction score
If you have mapped your network drives and then installed new Removable Storage devices, the drive that relates to this device will not, by default, appear in Windows Explorer
Same problem, if you add a physical hard drive or CD ROM to the system after "mapping" a network drive