Screen Resolution Problem


Joined
May 21, 2010
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Hello, I'm new here and sorry if I put this thread in the wrong category.

I have a problem with my resolution in my screen. Pictures in my monitor appear a little bit fat. And this has been a problem to me ever since we had a new monitor. When I draw a circle in my computer for example, it looks like a circle, but when viewing it it other pc's or laptops, it's becomes an oval. Things I draw in my computer is actually 2 times vertically thinner. How can I fix this? My screen resolution settings is set in 1024x768 or any resolution higher and lower than that is worse.

Alternatively, I also stumbled upon a "suggestion" in answebag.com saying that I could just add black borders on my screen to make it look normal. If I don't have any options left I would like to try this but unfortunately I don't know how.

Thank you so much in advance! :)
 
Last edited:
Ad

Advertisements

TrainableMan

^ The World's First ^
Moderator
Joined
May 10, 2010
Messages
9,353
Reaction score
1,587
1024x768, 800x600 are multiples of 4x3 which are the non-widescreen settings.

You want 2048x1152, 1920x1080, 1280x720, ie multiples of 16x9

If your monitor is recognized properly then at least one of the 16x9 options should be available.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
5,063
Reaction score
1,185
Hi baryaqueen - Welcome to w7forums

My screen resolution settings is set in 1024x768.
That resolution is not a wide screen resolution. That resolution should only be used with a monitor on a 4:3 ratio. My wide screen monitor is recommended to be set at 1440x900 which is a 16:10 ratio.




These numbers are closer to the resolutions you should choose from if you are using a wide screen monitor.
  • 1024x640
  • 1120x700
  • 1152x720
  • 1228x768
  • 1280x800
  • 1376x860
  • 1440x900
  • 1536x960
 

TrainableMan

^ The World's First ^
Moderator
Joined
May 10, 2010
Messages
9,353
Reaction score
1,587
My display is 16x9, Cliffords is apparently 16:10

If you have any resolutions available that match either of our answers that is probably the correct setting for the WS you have attached and would definately be better than 4x3.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Nibiru2012

Quick Scotty, beam me up!
Joined
Oct 27, 2009
Messages
4,955
Reaction score
1,302
Yes, be sure to set your resolution to it's native resolution for the monitor's size.

I have a 22" Widescreen Monitor and it's set to: 1680x1050

Yours may be slightly different. I'm not sure if Asus supplies drivers for their monitors but installing the driver usually helps.
 
Ad

Advertisements


Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top