Says its not 64bit compatible but it has a dual core


Joined
Aug 31, 2009
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Upgrading a friends laptop to Win 7. In the bios it says "Dual Core Present = Yes" and "Multi Core Support = Enabled" but when I pop in my Win 7 x64 CD I get a 0xc000035a error.

"Attempting to load a 64-bit application, however this CPU is not compatible with 64-bit mode."
 
Ad

Advertisements

clifford_cooley

VIP Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
5,063
Reaction score
1,184
Which processor is in the computer?
What exactly was the question here?
How can we be of help to you?
 
Joined
Aug 31, 2009
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Wanted to know why I was getting this error when the computer is a Dual Core computer. It has a Intel Core Duo processor (don't know model). It has a dual core which means it has a 64-bit processor... so why can't I install Win 7 64-bit?
 

Veedaz

~
VIP Member
Joined
Sep 1, 2009
Messages
1,988
Reaction score
374
Hi yusky03

Can you download SIW (System Information for Windows) its a freeware standalone utility that does not require installation, and it will give a very clear picture of the system you are attempting to install Windows 7 64bit on.

Link > http://www.gtopala.com/
 

Nibiru2012

Quick Scotty, beam me up!
VIP Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2009
Messages
4,955
Reaction score
1,302
The motherboard may not be x64 compatible. This is especially prevalent in older laptops.

What brand and model of laptop is it? That will help.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 13, 2009
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
I have the same problem with my Dell XPS M2010

Same error ocurred with my Dell XPS M2010, anyone knows if this PC compatible with Windows 7 64 bits?
 
Ad

Advertisements

clifford_cooley

VIP Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
5,063
Reaction score
1,184
Are you guys using Virtual PC? All links to that error that I see are related to Virtual PC
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Nov 13, 2009
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Still doesn't work

I'm just trying to install Windows 7 in 64 bits but my XPS M2010 failed to start after installation. Should I try to install new BIOS or anything else?
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top