Router configuration help needed

Reaction score
I am expecting my Netgear RangeMax V1 WNDR3700 to arrive tomorrow. This is my first router and need heelp with setting it up. It;s only going to be hooked up to my desktop pc running Windows 7 Professional. Later I plan on purchasing a new 21" - 24" hdtv, Plaster Networks Powerline Starter Kit,Plaster Networks IX2 and a X-Box 360 to stream WMC to the hdtv. Any help on setting this router is appreciated, as I'm a newbie to routers.
System Specs. ECS A790GXM-A V1.0 mb
Phenom 2 965 BE 125 TDP cpu
Zalman CNPS 9900ALED Heatsink
Corsair TX750W psu
Crucial Ballistix DDR2 800 8 gbs. ram
2 WD Caviar Black 1 tb hard drives ( 1 OS & Programs 2 Personal Data)
XFX Radeon HD5770 video
Hauppage WinTV HVR-1850 tv tuner
2 Samsung SH223-C dvd-rw's
APC BackUPS E750G
22' Viewsonic LED montor

Reaction score
Not sure

I'm not sure this is my first router. I don't really know much about them. I do know that I won't be purchasing a notebook or a smart phone. Maybe a netbook, but that's on the back burner. I'm going to get the hdtv in January, the pwerline kit in February and the X-Box 360 in March. I'm basically just going to be streaming Windows Media Center to the X-Box 360 to watch on the hdtv at the other side of the house. I want to make sure nobody unwanted can get onto my network. It's basically for me, nobody else. I know that routers are a hardware firewall, but I really don't know much about configuring them.
Well, the question is, how do you want it to be configured?

Fire cat

Established Member
Reaction score
Well, then what you'll want is a mac adress filter so that only you can connect. Of course a wifi network. Maybe setting some fixed ips would be a good idea.

Reaction score
How do I find both of these ?