Refuse windows - save money

Reaction score
Although I use both Windows & Linux, I have been using Microsoft products for 15 years (think before Windows), and my long term satisfaction with Microsoft is very high.
Linux is far superior in some ways; mainly the freedom to do as I wish the software, BUT no other company has even come close to achieving the level of success and satisfaction which Microsoft has attained.

Retailers and OEM's are free to design/package their products any way they see fit, for very good reasons they choose Microsoft. Even your BIOS settings are factory preset for a Windows environment. So if you don't much about BIOS you will have problems with many versions of Linux.

I highly doubt there is a Microsoft conspiracy to force their products on unwilling consumers. You get Windows because it the most widely used OS, so retailers & manufacturers save tons of money by selling equipment designed for it's use. If they could not do this the prices would be much higher.

As far as the EULA goes, it is not designed to enslave each & every user! It is designed to protect Microsoft and it's staff & affiliates AND YOU!
The world can be a very hostile place and without the EULA you would expose yourself to a never ending flood of total nutcase scenarios.

Before anyone gets bent out of shape to tell me I'm wrong you better dig your head out of your compact personal view of the little PC on your desk and look at the BIG PICTURE!

No I don't work for Microsoft or anything even like it, I work for myself and Microsoft helps to make me money,,,even with the EULA........

draceena

That Crazy Amazon Chick!
Reaction score
Microsoft notwithstanding, almost all software out there has EULA's that would take hours to read through and a couple Lawyers present so most people just click the little OK button (myself included).

Kougar

OCing one chip at a time
Reaction score