Partition issues after cloning hd

SOLVED Discussion in 'Installation, Setup and Updates' started by GRD, Jun 21, 2016.

  1. GRD

    GRD

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    After updating my old E510 from xp to w7 found that the 80gb drive was too small and added a 250gb and cloned it using Aomei backupper 3.2. I wanted to move an unallocated partition into C: but the extend volume is greyed out in the wizard. This is what is stated on the two drives in computer management. Disk 0 basic 232.88gb online- (f) 55mb healthy primary partition - (c) 70.49 gb ntfs healthy(system boot, page file, active, crash dump, primary partition) - (h) 3.95gb fat32 healthy (primary partition) - 158.39gb unallocated. Disk 1 basic 74.50gb on line -55mb healthy (oem partition) (g) 70.49gb ntfs healthy (active, primary partition) - 3.95gb healthy (primary partition). I intend to format Disk 1 after I make sure these partition are in correct order and have loaded my other programs and files. The F-C-H has me wondering if things were cloned correctly or not, that is the advise I am seeking.
     
    GRD, Jun 21, 2016
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. GRD

    TrainableMan ^ The World's First ^ Moderator

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    9,132
    Likes Received:
    1,592
    Location:
    PA, USA
    it sounds like it cloned all the partitions and restored them the same size on the new drive. Windows built-in disk management partition adjustment is very limited ... it can only expand a partition if there is open space directly to the right of it.

    You would likely be better off just deallocating the 250gb drive & then allocate the partitions fresh by yourself. Then clone restore one partition at a time.

    There is partitioning software available that can move/expand non-contiguous space but I do not know of any that are freeware.
     
    TrainableMan, Jun 23, 2016
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. GRD

    GRD

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Found an article on Dell's knowledge base on - How to format a hard drive in w7 without formatting. I also understand that there is a free partitioning wizard program by MiniTool. I am looking for something that will correct the partitions on Disk0 without having to make a lot of choices.
     
    GRD, Jun 24, 2016
    #3
  4. GRD

    GRD

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Read the Dell knowledge base article over and it is more for "adding" a partition, where as I am looking for something that will correct the partitions on mine.
     
    GRD, Jun 24, 2016
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.