New Install W/format of Win7

SOLVED Discussion in 'Windows 7 Support' started by rgh43, Jan 24, 2018.

  1. rgh43

    rgh43

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pacific NW
    Can I repair an installation of Win7 without dumping anything like the programs I have reinstalled, MS Office, AVG etc. I had trouble getting my mouse to work after installation along with a few other things like no sound which I got fixed by ?..

    Now in the tray in the customize box I click on the speaker Icon and up pops a box that says "you are seeing a blank page because there are no audio devices plugged in the system. To activate GUI, please plug an audio device in the system." If I click on that ICON up pops an ASUS Menu box with all kinds of options to change speakers, sound etc, click on test & it goes from one speaker to the other with a test audio that I can hear loud & clear?

    In Device Manager I see this with a warning triangle in front of each with an exclamation mark in each. Will reload fix that or is it needed since the speakers are working?

    Device manager
    Other Devices:
    ! Multimedia Audio Controller
    ! Universal Serial Bus (USB) Controller

    Doesn't want to start up after going to sleep by clicking the mouse (used to) hitting the enter key a few times will finally get it to open.

    Again I don't want to loose my installed programs where I have to reload unless that is the only way to do what I want. I have other problems with the installation & what it did to my backup files on my Backup drive, they are now XKL docs so I cant see inside the folders, also one program in my 2nd backup drive is now corrupted I guess, cant open it in Excel "cannot access PTTT@ Results2018.XLSM

    This is the only Excel file in that folder that changed to this format, how I have no idea as I was in it the day before with no problem and I u unplugged both my backup HD's while I loaded Win7.

    So I think I need to insert the disc & repair the installation. What say you folks.
     
    rgh43, Jan 24, 2018
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. rgh43

    TrainableMan ^ The World's First ^ Moderator

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    9,273
    Likes Received:
    1,600
    Location:
    PA, USA
    Yes you can do a reinstall overtop your existing Win7 but all of your issues seem to be with drivers: sound driver & mouse driver & USB serial bus driver so it likely will not help. A better option is to go to ASUS and get the proper W7-64bit drivers for your MOBO & install them.

    Start with the USB Serial bus as that may be preventing the computer from seeing other devices.
     
    TrainableMan, Jan 27, 2018
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. rgh43

    rgh43

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pacific NW
    It was the Drivers and it is fixed.
     
    rgh43, Feb 4, 2018
    #3
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.